Patient Reviews

At GI Alliance of Illinois, we are a physician-led practice with a patient-centric focus, meaning you will always be our top priority. We know how important it is to feel comfortable with your provider and to know that you are cared about every step of the way. When choosing a provider, it is important to find one that is not only knowledgeable about your GI condition but one that can provide you with the support you need. Our practice is known across the state because of our top rated gastroenterologists and staff. We would love for you to browse through the reviews below from past and present patients who have been right where you are so that you can make the most informed decision when choosing a GI provider. Once you have read the reviews, reach out to a GI Alliance of Illinois location near you— we would love a chance to connect with you and find out how we can help you achieve better GI health.

5.0 Review from B.R. Source: Google Feb 17 2024

"Good experience. Pleasant caring professionals at every stage of the procedure."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Feb 14 2024

"The unpleasant procedure was much more tolerable by the staff around me. Everyone was friendly and upbeat. The doctor too, whom I hadn’t met before."

5.0 Review from G.M. Source: Google Feb 09 2024

"Wait time was minimal. Dr. Penn wastes no time diagnosing. His scheduler said she would contact me today, but that has not happened."

5.0 Review from M.H. Source: Google Jan 24 2024

"Very professional."

5.0 Review from G.A. Source: Google Jan 19 2024

"Everybody was so nice. And professional! Thank you for making me feel so Comfortable. Doctor Penn is not only a good doctor. He is a very nice guy. God bless all of you!"

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Jan 12 2024

"No complaints. All employees were courteous, respectful, friendly, and helpful."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Dec 29 2023

"What a wonderful experience with a great team of nurses! Dr Penn was so professional with a touch of humor! The anesthesiologist was equally professional with a true knack for his job! It was kind of a reward for me to have this team after undergoing the cleansing process for my colonoscopy. Thank you so much! I will be back ( in five years!)"

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Dec 29 2023

"Everything was done in a timely manner. I experienced no discomfort."

4.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Dec 29 2023

"The entire staff here is amazing. Five star all around. Dr Penn has a perfect sense of humor even though I don’t have one recollection of talking to him after the procedure! Highly recommend. Wish all medical visits were of this caliber."

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Google Dec 13 2023

"Professional and efficient!! Thank you."

5.0 Review from K.S. Source: Google Nov 21 2023

"Everything went very smoothly. Staff was great"

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Nov 17 2023

"Great experience. Dr. PENN thoroughly explained my gastro issues. He answered all of my questions. My first appt with him, but have used this practice for several years with another doctor."

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"Always happy with Dr Penn. The staff is friendly. Never a long wait."

5.0 Review from W.B. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"Everybody was absolutely fantastic. I love Dr. Penn. What a fantastic doctor and person. Totally comfortable around everyone. Thanks everybody."

5.0 Review from T.D. Source: Google Nov 09 2023

"Dr Penn was very kind and informative during and after the procedure."

5.0 Review from D.L. Source: Google Nov 08 2023

"The only place that I will ever get my colonoscopy done."

4.0 Review from S.E. Source: Google Nov 05 2023

"The doctor and the staff were amazing the day of the procedure. They made me feel comfortable and explained all the steps in a friendly and professional manner. The struggles came before. It was difficult to make an appointment due to nobody answering the phone. I had been referred six months ago and called to check on my referral. The week before my procedure I picked up my prescription. Usually a doctor's office will call a week before with instructions but nobody called me. Overall the experience was a positive one, just some instructions would have been helpful."

5.0 Review from M.N. Source: Google Oct 31 2023

"Highly professional and friendly team. Would completely recommend without hesitation."

5.0 Review from L.H. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"My experience with Dr. Penn and his staff was excellent they explained everything that was going to happen and reassured me everything was going to be ok and the staff was great and friendly."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Oct 04 2023

"Very professional and explained everything in detail to me and my wife. Thank you again to Dr. Penn and his staff"

5.0 Review from D.P. Source: Google Oct 01 2023

"Dr Penn is caring & very professional. He’s a fast talker but very understandable. Cares about you, explains what’ the issue is, describes what should be done, questions answered, & does his best!"

5.0 Review from P.M. Source: Google Sep 29 2023

"You did a great job and I am looking forward to seeing you on Halloween for my colonoscopy."

5.0 Review from G.C. Source: Google Sep 29 2023

"Dr. Penn and staff were fantastic and made me feel way relaxed and comfortable! They are quite concerned about your comfort and I would recommend them very, very highly!!"

5.0 Review from D.N. Source: Google Aug 31 2023

"Dr. Penn is very professional. He is always on time with appointments. I feel comfortable discussing any/all issues with him."

5.0 Review from D.P. Source: Google Aug 09 2023

"My family has gone to Dr. Penn for many years. He's one of a kind! In a not so fun procedure, Dr. Penn's professional side seems to put you at ease with just the right amount of humor. Downside: 0 rating or the worst possible are the Schedulers. You are not able to make an appointment. They will call you. My procedure was to be scheduled in July. I called 3-4 times and always got the same story... they only get a schedule 1 month at a time. I was on the list and was told, DO NOT CALL BACK. July 12th Alexandra called me to schedule an Aug. appt. I asked what happened to July. She said July was full. Worst experience of my life trying to schedule a Drs appointment. And yes, I told Dr. Penn and his Team. He was not happy!"

5.0 Review from J.D. Source: Google Aug 09 2023

"The appointment took 7 months to get but Dr. Penn is very good and takes the time to meet with you before and after your procedure."

5.0 Review from D.F. Source: Google Jul 11 2023

"Told ur head of staffing everyperson on ur staff were fantastic I actually thanked everyone I spoke to ur team is the best have a great day david"

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Jul 06 2023

"All the personnel were very personable and knowledgeable and explained all facets of the procedure. Dr Penn explained everything before and after the procedure. I was very satisfied."

5.0 Review from C.E. Source: Google Jul 06 2023

"From the first contact, Lorrie at the registration desk the process was positive. All staff were knowledgeable, professional, kind and respectful. I would recommend your facility!"

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Jul 06 2023

"Staff was compassionate, caring and thorough in explaining details of procedure and preparations before surgery."

5.0 Review from D.L. Source: Google Jul 04 2023

"This medical practice is both competent and caring. I received excellent care and would highly recommend them"

5.0 Review from S.E. Source: Google Jul 04 2023

"Not happy about prep but Dr. Penn and his staff were awesome"

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google Jun 29 2023

"I have told several of my family members and friends, and how very pleased I am with your service I had a colon scope done. all the people were very professional, efficient friendly, and certainly made an unpleasant experience pleasant. the nurses , doctors,, anesthesiologist, are all courteous, and their first concern is your well-being . My previous doctor had retired and I was concerned about who I would have in his place . I am so glad that I got Dr. Penn. He explained the procedure before you go in and then he comes and talks to in recovery after you’re done. The anesthesia they use is awesome. You’re in a twilight sleep in what seems like seconds and you wake up after the procedure in recovery as quickly as you went to sleep in the operating room. And so much better than going to a regular hospital for that type of a procedure"

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Jun 16 2023

"IN and OUT, in no time!! Zero discomfort or pain with the colonoscopy. Dr. Penn and his staff were professional and courteous."

5.0 Review from P.R. Source: Google May 18 2023

"Excellent bed side manner. So helpful to relax and encourage."

5.0 Review from R.V. Source: Google Apr 27 2023

"Dr Penn and entire staff are very professional, friendly, and always provide top quality care .."

5.0 Review from B.R. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Very professional and easy to get along with"

5.0 Review from W.N. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Excellent experience. Dr Penn has great communication skills. Great personality!"

5.0 Review from J.E. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"The staff and Dr. Penn at the Endoscopy Center were kind, caring, reassuring and professional throughout my visit & procedure--what a great team!"

5.0 Review from D.E. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr. Penn and his team did a great job. Very open to answering questions."

5.0 Review from G.B. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Extremely professional!! Very empathic and kind."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr. Penn and the entire team are absolutely amazing! Would highly recommend!"

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Friendly and Professional staff , really nice folks."

5.0 Review from K.A. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Made you feel confident and comfortable."

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"I have been a patience of Dr. Penn and my resent visit was very good. He reviewed all of my records from my hospital stay and explained every thing so I could understand. He is a great doctor."

5.0 Review from R.L. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Every aspect of my procedure with Dr. Penn and his team, from check-in thru discharge, was highly professional. The entire process was orchestrated to make this experience as pleasant as possible."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"I love Dr. Penn he has been my Gastrentrolgist for 20+ years. He is fast and thorough. I always recommend him to my friends and family"

5.0 Review from M.C. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Penn is professional, informative, and humorous. You can tell he enjoys his work and helping others."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Awesome, staffing is great too just a good Doctor"

5.0 Review from J.Y. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Friendly and efficient environment"

5.0 Review from E.W. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr pen is wonderful"

5.0 Review from S.P. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"This is my second procedure. It went very smoothly and the staff was great. I would highly recommend Dr. Penn."

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I would highly recommend Dr Penn for doing any procedure in his expertise. He was very professional and had a great bedside manner."

5.0 Review from J.V. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr Penn did a great job explaining procedure both before and after"

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Doctor Penn was extremely knowledgeable and polite!!! Asked me questions about what was going on with my medical issue and right to the point!"

5.0 Review from C.V. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Penn is. very caring doctor. He is very detailed and is always upbeat. I would highly recommend him if you are thing about going to him. He has a wonderful bedside manner."

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr Penn was very nice, explained everything I needed to know. I will definitely go back ."

5.0 Review from S.J. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Professional & timely."

5.0 Review from L.D. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Explain the task thoroughly. Answered my questions the procedure went very smoothly came in and spoke to me after the procedure and talked with me about the plan of care post colonoscopy. Very nice and down to earth"

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr Penn is passionate about eradicating colon cancer. High energy and explains everything in a way that anyone can understand."

5.0 Review from R.G. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr Penn was excellent. He came in prior to procedure to introduce himself and explain what was going to happen. After the procedure he came in to explain how the procedure went and answered any questions we had."

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"What an amazing doctor, the relaxed atmosphere of not only Dr Penn but his staff was beyond my expectations. They made me feel relaxed during my visit."

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Great people to work with and Dr Penn was the best. Wouldn't want anyone else. He has done all 3 of my procedures."

5.0 Review from B.W. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Had a colonoscopy yesterday. From check in to check out every single employee was kind and helpful. Dr Penn was wonderful and very caring. I highly recommend Dr Donald Penn and the staff of Illinois Gastroenterology Institute."

5.0 Review from K.N. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"My family and I have had Dr Penn for many years. He us simply the best! Dr always explains things very detailed and puts my mind at ease whenever I see him."

5.0 Review from T. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Very good experience. Good care from the receptionist to the Doctor. Highly recommend the whole staff."

5.0 Review from R.D. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Dr. Penn and his team are a well-oiled machine. Got me to the procedure prep room on time and got right to work. Fast, courteous, professional, extremely competent, and the procedure was literally painless. You won’t do better than this team."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Penn is a doctor who is very personable. Very good personality to be a doctor and has a sense of humor. He has done all my colonoscopies. Wouldn't go to anyone else."

5.0 Review from J.L. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Penn is the best! He has years of experience and is conscientious. His sense of humor puts you at ease as well."

5.0 Review from G.Y. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Penn and all of his staff did a wonderful job during my visit, and had the concern of the patient in mind as their number one priority."

5.0 Review from B.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Great doctor and staff"

5.0 Review from D.N. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Excellent Physician. Mixes his personality and his professionalism toward one goal, making his Patients feel comfortable during the whole process."

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"He has been my Doctor for several years and I love his honest approach. He is funny and a fast talker but he will make sure you understand everything that he is saying. He puts it in words you understand. I only wished he was a doctor that could treat me for everything because I love and trust him that much. He will get to the bottom of your problem and fix it for you. I can not say enough about him and his entire staff."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"My 31 special needs daughter went to him ; he was extremely courteous, respectful, and so kind to her and comforting. I love his attitude, he made both her and myself laugh ! Need to be more like him !"

5.0 Review from K.O. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Excellent Doctor!"

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Penn was great. He explained things very well."

5.0 Review from K.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"My experience with Dr. Penn was great. He is kind and caring, explains everything, and answers all questions. I would recommend him to friends and family."

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Great job. My 2nd. All the people are true professional s."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Penn is a great Doctor ,straight to the point, wonderful sense of humor. Can put your mind at ease before a procedure and you understand the situation after all is said and done.Thank You Doctor Donald Penn Jr."

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Penn has always treated me with concern and respect. He is always ready to listen to what I have to say. I have great respect for Dr Penn and am glad he is my doctor. He has always went above and beyond what I could ask for. I would recommend him to anyone that needs gastroenterology care."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Penn does an excellent job. He always explains things so you can understand. After my procedure, he came in to explain how it went and said “no cancer” twice to put my mind at ease. I really appreciate that. I would give him an A-plus plus. Carol Shaver"

5.0 Review from P.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Penn was very professional, and I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from P.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Wonderful treatment God bless them all"

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Penn and his staff are wonderful. They are always caring. They take time to answer questions, etc. I highly recommend Dr Penn and his staff."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"DR.PENN IS AWESOME! Wont find better!! Staff is great too!"

5.0 Review from N.L. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I found the doctor and all the staff most helpful, informative, and quite friendly. I could not have been more pleased."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Penn is always so nice and listens to me. His staff all very nice. But I got cancelled three times and rescheduled way out. But I got to see him and will continue been going to him many years."

5.0 Review from V.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Penn is an awesome Dr. I have been going to him for over 30 yrs. Very knowledgeable in his field. Saved my sons life when he was in college. Forever grateful"

4.0 Review from T.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I did not see the doctor after my procedure and was told he would come talk to me."

5.0 Review from D.F. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Every visit over the years, with Dr. Penn goes very smooth and easy. His explanations are simple and down to earth, easy to understand. Always answers your questions directly. Great personality and bedside manner. I would recommend him to everyone."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"The colonoscopy procedure from checkin to discharge was professional, caring and informative about the care being given and the proceedure."

5.0 Review from E.D. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I have been a patient of Dr. Penns for 33 year's. I wouldn't go to anyone else So Penn if you retire before I die I'm screwed! Love ya like an Uncle ;)"

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I highly recommend this specialist anyone with stomach issues I bring my elderly Mother to him and his staff he is a very friendly warm hearted person an excellent doctor I am very grateful for him and his staff being a part of my Mother's health care provider team him and his staff have been doing an incredible job with my Mother and her health issues my family and I are very grateful for them and appreciate him and his staff more than words can say many Thanks to you Mr Donald E Penn and staff your all doing an absolutely fantastic job"

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google May 25 2021

"As before, everyone at Central Illinois Endoscopy Center was fantastic! Dr. Penn was very welcoming and upbeat both before and after my procedure. The anesthesia they used was great, and I was clear headed enough immediately after to remember everything he told me. I would highly recommend Dr. Penn if you are in need of a colonoscopy."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"My endoscopy procedure was done professionally and results were given the same day. I thoroughly trust Dr. Penn to perform any procedure that might be necessary in my health care."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"The experience was very simple. No pain or discomfort."

5.0 Review from T.F. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Explained everything to me pre and post. Everything went well."

5.0 Review from P.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Perfect! Very prompt and professional."

5.0 Review from K.D. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr. Penn is a highly skilled physician. I would recommend his service to everyone. My colonostophy procedure was smooth, painfree and the entire staff was wonderful. I never would of put this procedure off for 4 years, if I knew it was so simple & no big deal."

5.0 Review from R.A. Source: Google May 25 2016

"Dr Donald e Penn greatest Dr ever I recommend him to family And friendless"

5.0 Review from S.R. Source: Google Jun 17 2015

"I have had 2 major surgeries by Dr. Penn. Both successful and I would highly recommend him. He is easy to talk to and knows his stuff."

5.0 Review from I.P. Source: Google May 25 2015

"Very knowledgeable. A little fast paced but if you ask, he'll spend all the time in the world with you"

5.0 Review from S.“. Source: Google May 25 2015

"I have had 2 major surgeries by Dr. Penn. Both successful and I would highly recommend him. He is easy to talk to and knows his stuff."