GI Alliance of Illinois has a new patient portal link! To access, click here!

Patient Reviews

At GI Alliance of Illinois, we are a physician-led practice with a patient-centric focus, meaning you will always be our top priority. We know how important it is to feel comfortable with your provider and to know that you are cared about every step of the way. When choosing a provider, it is important to find one that is not only knowledgeable about your GI condition but one that can provide you with the support you need. Our practice is known across the state because of our top rated gastroenterologists and staff. We would love for you to browse through the reviews below from past and present patients who have been right where you are so that you can make the most informed decision when choosing a GI provider. Once you have read the reviews, reach out to a GI Alliance of Illinois location near you— we would love a chance to connect with you and find out how we can help you achieve better GI health.

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Jul 29 2022

"Dr. Vainder was excellent. He made my appointment very comfortable. He was able to diagnose my condition very quickly and offer advice on how to alleviate some of the symptoms. I can't recommend him highly enough. By far one of my most pleasant doctors visits."

5.0 Review from H.W. Source: Google Jul 20 2022

"I've been a patient of John Vainder's for many years. He has, during our long association, performed diagnostics, regular maintenance care and monitoring procedures, and during one extremely frightening period, ICU acute care. During my own career, prior to retirement, I was a clinical nurse researcher, over which time I developed the criteria by which I personally 'graded' clinical care for my patients, my family, and myself. I hang my hat on them to this day. My estimation of expert medical care orbits around two specific areas--that of art and that of science. The science aspect I look for is that which surpasses competence--it is about brilliance of mind, thinking out of the box as second nature, in practice, and staying on top of prevailing and new research. Dr. Vainder continues to fulfill all of these criteria in his care of me; it is what brought me into his care. What has since KEPT me in his care and perpetuates my loyalty to him is the art. My experience with Dr. Vainder is pure art which is of the utmost importance to patients in general, and to me specifically. It is his honest, down to earth demeanor, compassion, humor, and respect toward those of us he cares for. It is his depth of understanding of OUR experiences that is the standout attribute of his art : it is my opinion that brilliant scientific care in combination with authenticity and kindness, makes a superior caregiver. I believe the expertise John Vainder brings to his practice in both domains sets a high standard, and is the expressed epitome of this most gifted physician's dedication in his practice of medicine. Best regards, Harriett Wittert"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Jul 20 2022

"Dr. Vaider is Excellent! He and his staff are very kind, prompt and professional! Would highly recommend 👌"

5.0 Review from B.L. Source: Google May 04 2022

"It was nice to meet Dr. Vainder and get his ‘to sense’ on my issue. He really put me at ease and I appreciate his help and expertise!"

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google Mar 24 2022

"Dr. Vainder is extremely nice, polite and has good sense of humor. He listened patiently and gave me the good advise. He made the whole experience very comfortable. Strongly recommend him!!!"

5.0 Review from S.J. Source: Google Mar 07 2022

"Dr puts you at ease immediately because of his experience and confidence that my issue was common and not to worry about. Was treated excelantly by Dr and all staff."

5.0 Review from A.P. Source: Google Feb 01 2022

"Compassionate caring friendly and explains all the options for you great personality easy to talk to would definitely recommend his office"

5.0 Review from M. Source: Google Jan 23 2022

"I had my colonoscopy done by Dr Vainder and he’s great. He did an awesome job and explained everything to me. Very knowledgeable and experienced in his field. Thank you and God bless you."

5.0 Review from R.K. Source: Google Jan 05 2022

"I would highly recommend Dr Vainder, he is an excellent practitioner and very knowledgeable"

5.0 Review from D.G. Source: Google Dec 23 2021

"Dr. Vainder took good care of me. I’d recommend him to anyone."

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google Dec 23 2021

"I would highly recommend Dr. Vainder as a gastroenterologist. I was very impressed with his professional staff, and Dr. Vainder’s ability to communicate with his patients in a caring and comprehensive manner."

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Dec 10 2021

"Dr Vainder is caring towards his patients and he is a good listener."

5.0 Review from I.G. Source: Google Nov 07 2021

"Excellent attention and very professional!"

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Oct 29 2021

"Very professional, caring, listens to the patient, explains things in a way that a lay person understands. Highly recommend ."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Oct 24 2021

"Very thorough and sat down to discuss why town in his office. He doesn’t talk at or down to you!"

5.0 Review from A.K. Source: Google Oct 12 2021

"Dr. Vainder treats patients with genuine care and he takes the time to understand a patient's complete lifestyle so that he can help the patient to achieve sustainable quality gastric health."

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Oct 08 2021

"Dr. Vainer was willing to spend the amount of time with me to go over test results, conditions and options. He made sure that I understood everything. Would definitely recommend him."

5.0 Review from G.B. Source: Google Sep 01 2021

"Dr Vainder is professional and genuinely a nice person which makes appointments enjoyable. Staff is great too!!"

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Aug 19 2021

"Dr. Vander is a very caring & concerned doctor, he tells you his opinion after he gives you a choice and he's a very pleasant individual. Thank you Dr. Vainder"

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Aug 05 2021

"Dr. Vainder is very friendly and down to earth. He and his staff make you feel comfortable. Most importantly, he actually listens and gives good advice."

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Jul 27 2021

"Great experience with Dr. Vainder. He knows his field and is easy to talk to concerning the GI tract."

5.0 Review from P.W. Source: Google Jul 24 2021

"I have been seeing Dr. Vainder for over 10 years and have had several procedures done. I would highly recommend him to everyone. He makes an uncomfortable situation much easier with his excellent sense of humor and professionalism. The whole process runs so smoothly and efficiently and everyone is most helpful and kind."

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google Jul 22 2021

"Was the best experience that I have ever had for a colonoscopy. Dr Vainderr was quick, personable and thorough."

5.0 Review from D.F. Source: Google Jun 30 2021

"Very cheerful and professional doctor, he gave me confidence and a very good impression."

5.0 Review from A.O. Source: Google Jun 25 2021

"Very responsive, easy to talk to, provides clear explanations."

5.0 Review from B.N. Source: Google Jun 19 2021

"He is very kind and professional and is very caring with my dad. Made my dad feel comfortable. Thank you so much."

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Jun 15 2021

"Doctor Vainder was very attentive to my father's needs and did a great job during his procedure."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Jun 02 2021

"Wow, the visit and the whole experience was outstanding. Arrived at 7:45, filled out couple papers, got in the room around 8am, the nurses were super nice and the nurse for ivey and Anastasia was super friendly with putting the needle. The doctor was smiling as always and was positive. Couldn’t of asked for a better experience and the staff. I was done 9:30 or so and was little dizzy took a nap and by 2pm I felt normal. Amazing amazing experience great doctor and staff all around. Thank you"

5.0 Review from S.K. Source: Google May 17 2021

"Dr, Vainder saved my life. He made a scary situation less scary. His bedside manner is A+"

5.0 Review from P.A. Source: Google Apr 30 2021

"My family has been seeing Dr. Vainder for over 25 years. He is very kind and personable. He takes time with you. And really cares about his patients. Dr. Vainder’s staff has also been with him for years. Vivian at the front desk is also very kind and helpful. Always a pleasant experience."

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Apr 11 2021

"Very personal, friendly interesting doctor. What I didn't like was his being too fast and in a hurry."

5.0 Review from N.G. Source: Google Apr 10 2021

"He’s a great nice dr! He listens to you and explains everything to you. All the nurses there are so nice."

5.0 Review from E.K. Source: Google Apr 05 2021

"Dr. Vander was very reassuring very comforting put my mind at ease I could not have had a better experience."

5.0 Review from R.S. Source: Google Apr 01 2021

"Friendly and professional."

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google Mar 28 2021

"Dr. Baldwin is so caring.He is a good listener, isn’t afraid to try something new, and is very current on techniques available. His nurse, John, is the best. He always returns calls, listens & comforts, if needed. Dr. & his entire staff have been there when I needed them, & had nowhere else to turn. They referred me on, as needed, & found answers to my problems."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Mar 26 2021

"Dr. Vainder is always very thorough in all the questions he asks me - very attentive to my answers and always gives me a plan of action with follow up plans"

5.0 Review from R.S. Source: Google Feb 22 2021

"He is one who listens and spends time with me as a person as well as a patient. I feel comfortable exchanging information and discussing my concerns. I usually walk out feeling better."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Feb 22 2021

"Humble Polite Funny Personality"

5.0 Review from N.B. Source: Google Feb 21 2021

"Dr. Vainder was great. He was very personable and took the time to discuss with me what my issues were and how to try and resolve my problems. I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Jan 27 2021

"Dr. Vainder is an exceptional doctor. He has great bedside manner. He truly is interested in your problem. He will first try and treat the problem instead of putting you through unnecessary tests. I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Jan 21 2021

"A kind, brilliant doctor who is honest and trustworthy. He really takes care of his patients. Thank you, Doc!!"

5.0 Review from J.F. Source: Google Jan 20 2021

"The most thoughtful and caring doctor on the planet. Dr. Vainder is simply the best person you can see for all of your gastric needs."

5.0 Review from M.C. Source: Google Dec 29 2020

"Was an overall great experience especially with having to quarantine so my appointments were online. Really great doctor and person. Gave me much insight into everything."

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google Dec 17 2020

"Very nice and clean place. The doctor is very knowledgeable and professional, explained everything very good about the procedure."

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google Dec 17 2020

"Dr. Vainder and his staff are absolutely amazing. They know their patients and treat them like family. Dr. Vainder is a great listener and this makes him an excellent physician. Its always a pleasure to come see them, even though the circumstances why you visit are not."

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Dec 14 2020

"Dr. Vainder is outstanding, very knowledgeable, professional and informative. The procedure was quick and easy. Amazing office and friendly staff. Highly recommended!"

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Dec 14 2020

"Dr. Vainder is outstanding, very knowledgeable, professional and informative. The procedure was quick and easy. Amazing office and friendly staff. Highly recommended!"

5.0 Review from E.B. Source: Google Dec 01 2020

"I have had a few colonoscopies performed by Dr Vainder over the past number of years. During these procedures, I only had a brief pre-op conversation with Dr Vainder until the sedative kicked in. And of course I hardly ever remember his post-op comments since some of the drug residual affected my memory! I did receive a very thorough written follow up with the results of my procedures. However, I recently needed a procedure to check out some acid reflux issues. During my pre-op office consultation and follow up office visits, I finally got to spend some time with him, unencumbered by drugs etc! I found Dr Vainder to be very personable. He talked to me like one of my friends in trying to determine a solution to my issues. I didnt have to listen to a bunch of "medical school speak" that I probably couldnt understand. After he reviewed op results and with input from me, he proposed a plan for a 60 day period and we would evaluate afterwards. No speeches, no lectures, no big medical terms...just a simple straight forward plan. I really appreciated his honesty and genuine interest in solving my problem. I highly recommend Dr Vainder and have been very pleased with his services."

5.0 Review from G.S. Source: Google Nov 22 2020

"I went to Dr Vainder 20 years ago for an issue, and he was great. Then my husband and mom went to him for routine colonoscopies . I recently went to him again for an issue, Because I was dissatisfied with a previous Gastro I saw last year. He saw how nervous i was as soon as he walked in, and sat right next to me looking at some results, and called me down immediately. He was so kind and compassionate and obviously knows his stuff. He gave me some medical advice for my issue, and continued to Calm me down and ask me about my life, why am I so stressed out? He spent so Much time with me, even trying to get me to laugh. Bedside manner is everything to me. I will never mind if I have to see him again! And I am afraid of doctors! He is amazing , and his staff is very nice too. I told him he is not allowed to retire any time soon!"

5.0 Review from J.K. Source: Google Nov 04 2020

"I think Dr Vainder is the absolute best very thoughtful very caring very thorough couldn’t ask for a better Dr."

5.0 Review from P.G. Source: Google Nov 02 2020

"I agree with all the five star reviews of Dr. Vainder. He is kind, thoughtful, listens carefully and, most of all, pays attention to what you say and how you describe what you are feeling. A very good doctor indeed."

5.0 Review from K.F. Source: Google Nov 02 2020

"I'm a longtime patient of Dr. Vainder's. He saw me in his office the same day I called, due to an unexplained pain I had for many hours. Patient and thorough, he recommended some solutions which are working very well. I am so grateful for his kindness, genuine interest, and expertise."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Nov 02 2020

"I absolutely love Dr. Vainder - he always listen to my concerns and then discusses the best plan to help me with my problem. He always wants me to schedule a follow up visit or call if I am having more difficulty. I would absolutely recommend Dr. Vainder"

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google Nov 01 2020

"A wonderful staff who are efficient and so welcoming and helpful. Dr. Vainder has been my doctor for many years. He has always helped get me through my difficult times and successfully done many procedures. He always explains and answers any questions and concerns I have. Always making sure I have what I need to maintain my health. I would recommend him and the entire staff to all my friends."

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google Oct 31 2020

"Dr. Vainder is a great combination of smart/qualified and caring/empathetic. He performed my routine colonoscopy last year, and then this year helped me deal with some GI pain that turned out to require a referral for surgical evaluation. While I was hospitalized, he stopped by to say hi and check in on me despite the fact that I wasn’t his patient (for that admission). He is a kind man...who happens to be a gastroenterologist!"

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Oct 28 2020

"Dr. Vainder is wonderful - listens to what I have to say and then we discuss the treatment he suggests - I trust him to always have my best interest in mind as we work thru my health problems"

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Oct 26 2020

"Have been a patient for over 25 years and love Dr. Vainder. He has a great staff and I trust when I go there that the care will be great!"

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Oct 22 2020

"Dr. Vainder connected with me in a warm and reassuring manner. His staff was as accommodating as I’ve ever experienced. Dr. John Vainder is one great doctor."

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google Oct 14 2020

"Dr. Vainder is a pleasure to talk to, well informed, and clearly devoted to helping his patients. I have used him for 15 years and never once been disappointed."

5.0 Review from L.J. Source: Google Oct 06 2020

"Dr Vainder is a very caring, passionate doctor. He makes you feel like he is your best friend! I highly recommend Dr. Vainder!"

5.0 Review from S.K. Source: Google Oct 04 2020

"Dr. Vainder is excellent. He takes his time and listens to your problems and issues and makes sure you are well taken care of and always follows up with you to make sure the current problem has been resolved. Dr. Vainder cares about his patients and provides excellent Healthcare services."

5.0 Review from H.W. Source: Google Jul 31 2020

"Dr. Vainder was congenial, very easy to speak with and, after explaining the issues I was having with my prior medication, he understood and quickly prescribed a new one that has been very effective. Thank you doctor."

5.0 Review from E.B. Source: Google Jul 09 2020

"My appointment started right on time. Dr Vainder is extremely personable. He thoroughly explained my condition and the walked me through a follow up procedure that was necessary. He made the entire process clear, simple and easy!"

5.0 Review from E.S. Source: Google Jun 20 2020

"DR JOHN VAINDER is really very,very good as well as the anesthesialogist & nurses that assisted him.I'm so grateful & thankful to all of them . I have no pain at all. JOB WELL DONE... THANKS AGAIN . ELSIE SAN MIGUEL."

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google Jun 13 2020

"Great listener....he is truly concerned"

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Mar 11 2020

"Great experience and very friendly doctor and staff at the office. Easily answered questions and follow up."

5.0 Review from T.P. Source: Google Feb 27 2020

"Dr. Vainder was really easy to talk to. Had an ease about him that made it easy to trust, and great bed side manner."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google Dec 12 2019

"Very professional caring understands your needs explaines everything so you understand what going on. Take time with you.Great Doctor."

5.0 Review from V.T. Source: Google Dec 11 2019

"They were timely and extremely nice. I like Dr Vainder a lot; personable and friendly. It’s always nice when people take a little extra time. I appreciated that."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Dec 04 2019

"Dr. Vainder and his staff treated us with compassion and respect. We were informed of each step in the procedure. Follow up phone calls were greatly appreciated."

5.0 Review from R.V. Source: Google Nov 22 2019

"Just a fantastic doctor with a great staff. He was so empathetic and caring, and when I left I heard him on the phone trying to get a patient a referral due to his insurance."

5.0 Review from E.E. Source: Google Nov 07 2019

"Dr. Vainder is an amazing listener...He spends a good deal of face to face time, asking asking about your condition, never sitting at a computer desk. (I don't even think there's a computer in the exam room.) He thoughtfully explains and problem solves with you, and seems genuinely pleased to send you away with a plan that will work. I think he's a wonderful doctor."