Patient Reviews

At GI Alliance of Illinois, we are a physician-led practice with a patient-centric focus, meaning you will always be our top priority. We know how important it is to feel comfortable with your provider and to know that you are cared about every step of the way. When choosing a provider, it is important to find one that is not only knowledgeable about your GI condition but one that can provide you with the support you need. Our practice is known across the state because of our top rated gastroenterologists and staff. We would love for you to browse through the reviews below from past and present patients who have been right where you are so that you can make the most informed decision when choosing a GI provider. Once you have read the reviews, reach out to a GI Alliance of Illinois location near you— we would love a chance to connect with you and find out how we can help you achieve better GI health.

5.0 Review from V.G. Source: Google Feb 24 2024

"Dr. Vainder has always listened to me and Ive been a patient of his for many years. He's a superb doctor."

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google Feb 17 2024

"Feel like home with nurses being so friendly and awesome attitude."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Feb 14 2024

"It was pleasant easy comfortable. I wasn’t at all worried about the procedure because everyone was kind efficient and knowledgeable"

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google Feb 08 2024

"I was pleased with the procedure completed with Dr. Vainder. He came and spoke with me both before and after the procedure. Explained what was found and how to control it. Great bedside manner! Will definitely recommend."

5.0 Review from B. Source: Google Jan 15 2024

"I'm a new patient of Dr. Vainder. During my consultation with him, Dr. Vainder really took time out to listen to my concerns and made me feel as though he values his patients. He made me laugh and calmed my nerves when I was describing what brought me to him. I believe having a doctor who is compassionate about his work and a good listener, will result in patients having a positive outcomes on their healthcare."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Jan 13 2024

"Dr Vainder explained everything very clearly and was very patient."

5.0 Review from N.G. Source: Google Jan 13 2024

"Would definitely recommend Dr. Vainder a best gastroenterologist. Who is taking care of my digestive health since last 6 years."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Jan 05 2024

"Dr. Vainder is very nice, attentive, listens and takes his time. Very professional and kind."

5.0 Review from A. Source: Google Dec 30 2023

"I'm a new patient of Dr. Vainder. During my consultation with him, Dr. Vainder really took time out to listen to my concerns and made me feel as though he values his patients. He made me laugh and calmed my nerves when I was describing what brought me to him. I believe having a doctor who is compassionate about his work and a good listener, will result in patients having a positive outcomes on their healthcare."

5.0 Review from M.O. Source: Google Dec 29 2023

"The service was excellent!"

5.0 Review from T.S. Source: Google Dec 29 2023

"Dr. Vainder was very warm while professional. The medication he prescribed seems to have solved my problem."

5.0 Review from T.A. Source: Google Dec 20 2023

"Everything was real good, the nurses were very friendly and the dr. Made you feel welcome and the hospital was clean! Everyone was compassionate and caring."

5.0 Review from R.L. Source: Google Dec 13 2023

"I have been a patient of Dr. Vainder for 13 years. He is the best. He takes the time to really listen."

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Dec 13 2023

"Love Dr. Vainder. Very thorough."

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Dec 13 2023

"Dr Vainder and his thoroughly professional team started my procedure on time. He and the entire team were efficient, well trained and supportive. Thank you!"

5.0 Review from G. Source: Google Dec 13 2023

"Great makes me feel comfortable"

5.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google Dec 07 2023

"Dr. Vainder conveys a real interest in the patient. He is very easy to talk with."

5.0 Review from C.P. Source: Google Nov 29 2023

"Very skilled doctor, highly recommend Dr. Vainder."

5.0 Review from K.F. Source: Google Nov 29 2023

"Staff are very professional. Dr Vainder is very down to earth,easy to talk with."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google Oct 13 2023

"Dr Vainders staff was prompt and courteous. Dr Vainder was helpful in explaining the results of blood test I provided to him."

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Oct 13 2023

"Complete and informative session."

5.0 Review from P.P. Source: Google Jun 23 2023

"Dr Vainder listened to my concerns and was very patient. I’m confident in his judgment."

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google Jun 16 2023

"Thank you Dr. Vainder and staff. Very knowledgeable, professional and friendly. Definitely I will follow up with you!"

5.0 Review from V.Z. Source: Google May 28 2023

"He is smart doctor and a good stafe"

5.0 Review from E.O. Source: Google May 27 2023

"The best doctor I've ever dealt with."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google May 04 2023

"Dr. Vainder was excellent. He made my appointment very comfortable. He was able to diagnose my condition very quickly and offer advice on how to alleviate some of the symptoms. I can't recommend him highly enough. By far one of my most pleasant doctors visits."

5.0 Review from O.D. Source: Google May 04 2023

"Very friendly and helpful doctor."

5.0 Review from C. Source: Google Apr 29 2023

"Dr. Vainder was excellent. He made my appointment very comfortable. He was able to diagnose my condition very quickly and offer advice on how to alleviate some of the symptoms. I can't recommend him highly enough. By far one of my most pleasant doctors visits."

5.0 Review from P.H. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Dr. Vainder is a very caring physician who went the extra mile for me when it was needed most."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Dr. Vainder and his staff are very experienced, attentive and thorough. Dr. Vainder is especially personable and really listens to your symptoms. I am confident that I am getting the best care here."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"I recently had a doctor's appointment with Doctor Vainder and I cannot recommend him enough. From start to finish, the experience was nothing short of exceptional. I appreciated his thoughtful approach and genuine interest in my well-being. Throughout the exam, he demonstrated an impressive depth of knowledge and a skillful touch. The office staff was friendly and efficient, making check-in a breeze."

5.0 Review from P.I. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"John Vainder is an excellent Doctor, and answered all of my questions. His staff is friendly and attentive."

5.0 Review from K.G. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Perfect experience with my colonoscopy by Dr Vainder. Medical excellence with a personal touch."

5.0 Review from A.K. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Dr. Vainder always takes time to talk about how I am, what’s working, what needs to be considered. I trust him implicitly."

5.0 Review from 8. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. John Vainder is my best doctor. Always solved my problems quick and easy. We stick with him for more than 20 years. Thanks Dr. John Vainder."

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Vander is a very caring & concerned doctor, he tells you his opinion after he gives you a choice and he's a very pleasant individual. Thank you Dr. Vainder"

5.0 Review from J.K. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"The office staff are courteous and professional. Dr. Vainder is friendly and professional, takes time to understand the patient's concerns, and takes a practical, caring approach to treatment."

5.0 Review from K.J. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"For more than 30 years, Dr. Vainder has managed my ulcerative colitis with his sage judgment and careful attention. Thank you!!!"

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Very good bed side manner. Knowledgeable about his work I like that!!"

5.0 Review from I.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr,Vander is good ,polite.He listen patient very well.He is a nice person which makes appointment enjoyable. Really he is a great doctor."

5.0 Review from E.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Even when the staff is really busy, they all are friendly and smile. Dr vainder is top notch!"

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Highly recommend. Dr. Vainder and his staff were very professional and caring."

5.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"After a recent visit to the E.R., I made a follow up appointment with Dr. John Vainder. I really liked him. He was attentive to my needs and answered my questions and even felt more should have been done for me at the E.R. I really felt like I mattered to him. I’ve made another appt with Dr. Vainder for further diagnostics. I look forward to seeing him again. Thanks!"

5.0 Review from K.E. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Great doctor super nice and gives excellent medical advice. I would highly recommend him to friends and family, also super friendly staff."

5.0 Review from G.B. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr Vainder is professional and genuinely a nice person which makes appointments enjoyable. My wife found him through reading reviews and he lives up to the good reviews!! Staff is great too!!"

5.0 Review from N.G. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"He’s a great nice dr! He listens to you and explains everything to you. All the nurses there are so nice."

5.0 Review from M.N. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"He’s a great physician. He really listens to you and offers thoughtful insight."

5.0 Review from R.S. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Vainder is one of the most caring physicians I have been to. He is very patient and has got me through some tough times."

5.0 Review from F.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Above and beyond /just like your family"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr. Vaider is Excellent! He and his staff are very kind, prompt and professional! Would highly recommend 👌"

5.0 Review from H.W. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"I've been a patient of John Vainder's for many years. He has, during our long association, performed diagnostics, regular maintenance care and monitoring procedures, and during one extremely frightening period, ICU acute care. During my own career, prior to retirement, I was a clinical nurse researcher, over which time I developed the criteria by which I personally 'graded' clinical care for my patients, my family, and myself. I hang my hat on them to this day. My estimation of expert medical care orbits around two specific areas--that of art and that of science. The science aspect I look for is that which surpasses competence--it is about brilliance of mind, thinking out of the box as second nature, in practice, and staying on top of prevailing and new research. Dr. Vainder continues to fulfill all of these criteria in his care of me; it is what brought me into his care. What has since KEPT me in his care and perpetuates my loyalty to him is the art. My experience with Dr. Vainder is pure art which is of the utmost importance to patients in general, and to me specifically. It is his honest, down to earth demeanor, compassion, humor, and respect toward those of us he cares for. It is his depth of understanding of OUR experiences that is the standout attribute of his art : it is my opinion that brilliant scientific care in combination with authenticity and kindness, makes a superior caregiver. I believe the expertise John Vainder brings to his practice in both domains sets a high standard, and is the expressed epitome of this most gifted physician's dedication in his practice of medicine. Best regards, Harriett Wittert"

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I would highly recommend Dr. Vainder as a gastroenterologist. I was very impressed with his professional staff, and Dr. Vainder’s ability to communicate with his patients in a caring and comprehensive manner."

5.0 Review from I.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Excellent attention and very professional!"

5.0 Review from J. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I had my colonoscopy done by Dr Vainder and he’s great. He did an awesome job and explained everything to me. Very knowledgeable and experienced in his field. Thank you and God bless you."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very thorough and sat down to discuss why town in his office. He doesn’t talk at or down to you!"

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very professional, caring, listens to the patient, explains things in a way that a lay person understands. Highly recommend ."

5.0 Review from S.J. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr puts you at ease immediately because of his experience and confidence that my issue was common and not to worry about. Was treated excelantly by Dr and all staff."

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Vainder is caring towards his patients and he is a good listener."

5.0 Review from R.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I would highly recommend Dr Vainder, he is an excellent practitioner and very knowledgeable"

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Great experience with Dr. Vainder. He knows his field and is easy to talk to concerning the GI tract."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Wow, the visit and the whole experience was outstanding. Arrived at 7:45, filled out couple papers, got in the room around 8am, the nurses were super nice and the nurse for ivey and Anastasia was super friendly with putting the needle. The doctor was smiling as always and was positive. Couldn’t of asked for a better experience and the staff. I was done 9:30 or so and was little dizzy took a nap and by 2pm I felt normal. Amazing amazing experience great doctor and staff all around. Thank you"

5.0 Review from A.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Vainder treats patients with genuine care and he takes the time to understand a patient's complete lifestyle so that he can help the patient to achieve sustainable quality gastric health."

5.0 Review from A.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Compassionate caring friendly and explains all the options for you great personality easy to talk to would definitely recommend his office"

5.0 Review from A.O. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very responsive, easy to talk to, provides clear explanations."

5.0 Review from B.L. Source: Google May 25 2022

"It was nice to meet Dr. Vainder and get his ‘to sense’ on my issue. He really put me at ease and I appreciate his help and expertise!"

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Vainder is very friendly and down to earth. He and his staff make you feel comfortable. Most importantly, he actually listens and gives good advice."

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Vainder is extremely nice, polite and has good sense of humor. He listened patiently and gave me the good advise. He made the whole experience very comfortable. Strongly recommend him!!!"

5.0 Review from D.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Vainder took good care of me. I’d recommend him to anyone."

5.0 Review from N.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Vainder was great. He was very personable and took the time to discuss with me what my issues were and how to try and resolve my problems. I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Very nice and clean place. The doctor is very knowledgeable and professional, explained everything very good about the procedure."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Vainder is an exceptional doctor. He has great bedside manner. He truly is interested in your problem. He will first try and treat the problem instead of putting you through unnecessary tests. I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from M.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Was an overall great experience especially with having to quarantine so my appointments were online. Really great doctor and person. Gave me much insight into everything."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Vainder is always very thorough in all the questions he asks me - very attentive to my answers and always gives me a plan of action with follow up plans"

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"A kind, brilliant doctor who is honest and trustworthy. He really takes care of his patients. Thank you, Doc!!"

5.0 Review from E.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I have had a few colonoscopies performed by Dr Vainder over the past number of years. During these procedures, I only had a brief pre-op conversation with Dr Vainder until the sedative kicked in. And of course I hardly ever remember his post-op comments since some of the drug residual affected my memory! I did receive a very thorough written follow up with the results of my procedures. However, I recently needed a procedure to check out some acid reflux issues. During my pre-op office consultation and follow up office visits, I finally got to spend some time with him, unencumbered by drugs etc! I found Dr Vainder to be very personable. He talked to me like one of my friends in trying to determine a solution to my issues. I didnt have to listen to a bunch of "medical school speak" that I probably couldnt understand. After he reviewed op results and with input from me, he proposed a plan for a 60 day period and we would evaluate afterwards. No speeches, no lectures, no big medical terms...just a simple straight forward plan. I really appreciated his honesty and genuine interest in solving my problem. I highly recommend Dr Vainder and have been very pleased with his services."

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Vainder is a pleasure to talk to, well informed, and clearly devoted to helping his patients. I have used him for 15 years and never once been disappointed."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Humble Polite Funny Personality"

5.0 Review from J.F. Source: Google May 25 2021

"The most thoughtful and caring doctor on the planet. Dr. Vainder is simply the best person you can see for all of your gastric needs."

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Vainder and his staff are absolutely amazing. They know their patients and treat them like family. Dr. Vainder is a great listener and this makes him an excellent physician. Its always a pleasure to come see them, even though the circumstances why you visit are not."

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Very personal, friendly interesting doctor. What I didn't like was his being too fast and in a hurry."

5.0 Review from H.W. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Vainder was congenial, very easy to speak with and, after explaining the issues I was having with my prior medication, he understood and quickly prescribed a new one that has been very effective. Thank you doctor."

5.0 Review from G.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I went to Dr Vainder 20 years ago for an issue, and he was great. Then my husband and mom went to him for routine colonoscopies . I recently went to him again for an issue, Because I was dissatisfied with a previous Gastro I saw last year. He saw how nervous i was as soon as he walked in, and sat right next to me looking at some results, and called me down immediately. He was so kind and compassionate and obviously knows his stuff. He gave me some medical advice for my issue, and continued to Calm me down and ask me about my life, why am I so stressed out? He spent so Much time with me, even trying to get me to laugh. Bedside manner is everything to me. I will never mind if I have to see him again! And I am afraid of doctors! He is amazing , and his staff is very nice too. I told him he is not allowed to retire any time soon!"

5.0 Review from P.A. Source: Google May 25 2021

"My family has been seeing Dr. Vainder for over 25 years. He is very kind and personable. He takes time with you. And really cares about his patients. Dr. Vainder’s staff has also been with him for years. Vivian at the front desk is also very kind and helpful. Always a pleasant experience."

5.0 Review from E.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Vander was very reassuring very comforting put my mind at ease I could not have had a better experience."

5.0 Review from E.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"DR JOHN VAINDER is really very,very good as well as the anesthesialogist & nurses that assisted him.I'm so grateful & thankful to all of them . I have no pain at all. JOB WELL DONE... THANKS AGAIN . ELSIE SAN MIGUEL."

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Vainder is outstanding, very knowledgeable, professional and informative. The procedure was quick and easy. Amazing office and friendly staff. Highly recommended!"

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Have been a patient for over 25 years and love Dr. Vainder. He has a great staff and I trust when I go there that the care will be great!"

5.0 Review from R.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Friendly and professional."

5.0 Review from R.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He is one who listens and spends time with me as a person as well as a patient. I feel comfortable exchanging information and discussing my concerns. I usually walk out feeling better."

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Great listener....he is truly concerned"

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Great experience and very friendly doctor and staff at the office. Easily answered questions and follow up."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr. Vainder and his staff treated us with compassion and respect. We were informed of each step in the procedure. Follow up phone calls were greatly appreciated."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Very professional caring understands your needs explaines everything so you understand what going on. Take time with you.Great Doctor."

5.0 Review from V.T. Source: Google May 25 2020

"They were timely and extremely nice. I like Dr Vainder a lot; personable and friendly. It’s always nice when people take a little extra time. I appreciated that."

5.0 Review from T.P. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr. Vainder was really easy to talk to. Had an ease about him that made it easy to trust, and great bed side manner."

5.0 Review from R.V. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Just a fantastic doctor with a great staff. He was so empathetic and caring, and when I left I heard him on the phone trying to get a patient a referral due to his insurance."

5.0 Review from E.E. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr. Vainder is an amazing listener...He spends a good deal of face to face time, asking asking about your condition, never sitting at a computer desk. (I don't even think there's a computer in the exam room.) He thoughtfully explains and problem solves with you, and seems genuinely pleased to send you away with a plan that will work. I think he's a wonderful doctor."