Patient Reviews

At GI Alliance of Illinois, we are a physician-led practice with a patient-centric focus, meaning you will always be our top priority. We know how important it is to feel comfortable with your provider and to know that you are cared about every step of the way. When choosing a provider, it is important to find one that is not only knowledgeable about your GI condition but one that can provide you with the support you need. Our practice is known across the state because of our top rated gastroenterologists and staff. We would love for you to browse through the reviews below from past and present patients who have been right where you are so that you can make the most informed decision when choosing a GI provider. Once you have read the reviews, reach out to a GI Alliance of Illinois location near you— we would love a chance to connect with you and find out how we can help you achieve better GI health.

5.0 Review from S.E. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Performed my 4th colonoscopy with no adverse effects. Top notch doctor. Explained everything well."

5.0 Review from B.D. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Alan Shapiro is outstanding as a doctor and as a person!"

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"The best doctor , very good experience"

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I have seen Dr. Shapiro for many years and for several colonoscopies. Dr. Shapiro has a highly professional manner, creates a sense of calm and confidence leading to the procedure, and clearly communicates what he finds and steps to be taken. I trust his work."

5.0 Review from W.L. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I can't say enough good things about Dr. Shapiro. I had been experiencing serious stomach related issues a few years ago and had seen a number of doctors but with no luck until Dr. Shapiro. After a number of tests he was able to determine that I had Celiac disease and put me on a gluten free diet and I have been fine ever since."

5.0 Review from T.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I've had 3 colonoscopies with Dr. Shapiro. He and his staff arefantastic. I would not see anyone else for this procedure."

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is a great doc, very patient and doesn’t rush you."

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I’ve been seeing dr. Shapiro for quite a while now. He spends a lot of time with me, he answers all my questions, and he is very knowledgeable as well. I would recommend Dr. Shapiro to anybody who needs a gastroenterologist!"

5.0 Review from J.T. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Shapiro is a GI doctor. He sent me a reminder to make an appointment, which I ignored, then he sent me another one which I ignored. I just hadn’t been feeling strong enough to get through a colonoscopy. Then he made me an appointment and I thought I’d better go. He checked out the GI department and said I’m not well enough to get a colonoscopy and I didn’t have any polyps last time anyway. He said my issues were from chemo. I have lung cancer and I hadn’t been feeling well, as a matter of fact I was sick as a dog when I went in to see him. My son drove me. Dr. Shapiro listened to my lungs intently, he didn’t like what he heard and contacted my oncologist. They both determined that I better get to the ER ASAP. I did, and was admitted with viral pneumonia and Covid. He saved my life. Had I not gone to him that day the I would not have made it, I had a 102° fever. Dr. Shapiro goes above and beyond for his patients. He is amazing, I’ve been going to him for 30 years for colonoscopys. I cannot speak more highly of him."

5.0 Review from I.P. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He is simply the best. I feel really lucky to have him as my physician."

5.0 Review from E.K. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Great Dr. Easy to talk to, very approachable and honest. Listened to all I had to say and offered his opinion on what should be done and most importantly, allowed me a choice in the manner of my treatment, which is very rare thing to hear, as most doctors just tell you: "this is what you need to do" and end of story. Highly recommended!"