Patient Reviews

At GI Alliance of Illinois, we are a physician-led practice with a patient-centric focus, meaning you will always be our top priority. We know how important it is to feel comfortable with your provider and to know that you are cared about every step of the way. When choosing a provider, it is important to find one that is not only knowledgeable about your GI condition but one that can provide you with the support you need. Our practice is known across the state because of our top rated gastroenterologists and staff. We would love for you to browse through the reviews below from past and present patients who have been right where you are so that you can make the most informed decision when choosing a GI provider. Once you have read the reviews, reach out to a GI Alliance of Illinois location near you— we would love a chance to connect with you and find out how we can help you achieve better GI health.

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Jul 12 2024

"I received pleasant, friendly and efficient care and service. The staff started the procedure precisely at the time it was scheduled."

5.0 Review from L.K. Source: Google Jul 11 2024

"The Office was Clean & Quite. All the staff was helpful and organized. I didn’t have to wait past my appointment. I was very satisfied with the Service."

5.0 Review from D.G. Source: Google Jul 10 2024

"Had my first visit with Dr. Ballard yesterday. He was very informative and willing to discuss all the issues. Pleasant personality, seems like a decent person."

5.0 Review from D.R. Source: Google Jul 10 2024

"Very professional around the clock."

5.0 Review from M.C. Source: Google Jul 04 2024

"The staff and Dr Ballard was so helpful and informative. I felt very comfortable!"

5.0 Review from K.H. Source: Google Jul 03 2024

"I received the same professional and friendly service that was awarded too me 5 years earlier."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Jul 03 2024

"I had got a Anoscopy done when I was there and everything before the procedure was good everyone working there was very nice and helpful, and with the procedure everything went smoothly and well."

5.0 Review from B.F. Source: Google Jun 21 2024

"Dr. Ballard made me feel better after our confrontation meeting his staff was very professional and friendly 👏"

5.0 Review from B.F. Source: Google Jun 20 2024

"Dr. Ballard made me feel better after our confrontation meeting his staff was very professional and friendly 👏"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google May 25 2024

"Generally very good, treated well fast and efficient!"

5.0 Review from C.F. Source: Google May 25 2024

"Dr. Ballard was kind and concise with how he educated me regarding my health and the solutions behind it."

5.0 Review from N.M. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Everything was simple and straightfoward. Nurses were beyond pleasant and friendly and respectful. They kept me abreast of what was going on and what was going to happen. Dr. Ballard was friendly, pleasant. Overall GREAT!!!"

5.0 Review from S.R. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Everyone was very helpful. The test went well. I felt I was in good hands through out the test. Afterwards I felt rested the nurses were very caring and kind."

5.0 Review from S.E. Source: Google May 08 2024

"I had a good experience with the staff as well as Dr. Ballard. The facility was modern, clean, and quiet. The staff was pleasant, respectful, and attentive. Dr. Ballard asked questions, then listened to my answers, and I was able to agree or disagree with the treatment options. He's very easy to understand and to talk to and that's important to me."

5.0 Review from H.P. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Dr. Ballard is very personable. Front Desk receptionists were very friendly and helpful. His nurse needs to have an attitude adjustment."

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google Feb 28 2024

"Dr Ballard was excellent as always"

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google Feb 24 2024

"Very professional"

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Feb 01 2024

"Great caring staff!"

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Jan 19 2024

"Waiting time excellent, office visit a 10 Dr Ballard is a good doctor in my opinion"

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Jan 05 2024

"Very thorough in explanation. Attentive to any concerns that I shared or needed answered."

5.0 Review from L.D. Source: Google Dec 29 2023

"Dr Ballard made me feel really comfortable. He’s professional in a nice relaxing down to earth way."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google Dec 13 2023

"I was totally impressed with all the staff and Doctor . Everything was a very smooth process that was extremely impressive. I would highly recommend Doctor Ballard based on my experience."

5.0 Review from W.T. Source: Google Dec 10 2023

"Personable and knowleable. Helped me to overcome the fear I was having regarding my procedure. Thank you Dr. Ballard and your staff."

5.0 Review from L.K. Source: Google Dec 03 2023

"I was taking very good care of by the whole Staff and the Doctor was very nice and funny he did a great job on my procedure I will recommend him to all my friends."

5.0 Review from C.R. Source: Google Nov 29 2023

"Excellent care. Felt comfortable the whole way through."

5.0 Review from V.S. Source: Google Nov 18 2023

"First time appointment with Dr. Ballard and he performed a colonoscopy and was very informative and professional. The staff asked all the important questions and explained the procedure very well. Very friendly staff and I left with a smile on my face."

5.0 Review from F.L. Source: Google Nov 13 2023

"The staff at Dr Ballard office was very welcoming, the nurse answered all my question and eased my anxiety about my procedure. Dr. Darren Ballard was the best he was caring , provided answer to my questions about the procedure and at the end gave me follow up on how the procedure went."

5.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google Nov 04 2023

"I was at So. suburban hospital for an outpatient procedure. I can say, that from the moment I was checked in up until the time I left. I was treaed with the most respect and kindness and reassurance that made me feel real comfortable. The Doctor as well as the staff was very professional. I reccomend South Suburban"

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google Oct 24 2023

"The whole staff was very helpful and friendly they made everything very comfortable great job"

5.0 Review from M.V. Source: Google Oct 20 2023

"Dr. Darren Ballard had very good bedside manners. He was kind and did what he had to do. After the procedure explained to you what was found in the test. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from P.T. Source: Google Oct 16 2023

"Dr. Ballard has been taking care of my ulcerative colitis and has always given me the best of care and advice on how to manage it."

5.0 Review from M.C. Source: Google Oct 14 2023

"Attention to detail"

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Oct 13 2023

"From the time I got there the receptionist was kind and welcoming. The in room nurse asked questions than ASKED if I had questions. Dr. Ballard is kind, considerate, made me feel at ease, answering all my questions. Made me feel comfortable with my upcoming procedures. I can’t thank them all enough because I was very nervous going in and now feel confident about everything. My kindest regards, dianna"

5.0 Review from N.R. Source: Google Sep 29 2023

"Nice, warm, friendly atmosphere. Timely and efficient."

5.0 Review from E.S. Source: Google Sep 05 2023

"This was my second time having my colonospy. I must say as usual the staff and the doctors each were comforting and helpful. I would recommend this facility and the doctor."

5.0 Review from E.S. Source: Google Sep 02 2023

"My initial appt. with Dr. Ballard came with great expectations and he didn't disappoint. I found him very knowledgeable and concise in diagnosing my condition. Dr. Ballard was professional and easy to talk to regarding my concerns."

5.0 Review from E.P. Source: Google Aug 17 2023

"It was great! I didn't feel a thing. It was like taking a good nap and when they woke me it was all over. The staff was overly friendly and I felt comfortable with everyone and everything from beginning to end!"

5.0 Review from N.L. Source: Google Aug 12 2023

"Well so far no one has called me back when I was told they were going to call and give me a phone visit or call me and schedule an appointment. And this was all I got was a survey. They were going to call. It's been 2 days."

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Aug 04 2023

"Dr. Ballard and his staff were super awesome!! First time procedure and was very nervous about being put to sleep. Let me say they were absolutely wonderful in taking care of me from start to finish!!! I recommend them 1000%!!!"

5.0 Review from T.T. Source: Google Jul 27 2023

"My Visit was pleasant. The Office was very clean. The Doctor was very fast & accurate."

5.0 Review from K.R. Source: Google Jul 18 2023

"Excellent professional service from beginning to End. Lol"

4.0 Review from E.K. Source: Google Jun 29 2023

"The service was very good. However. it took too long for me to get the pathology report."

5.0 Review from N.H. Source: Google Jun 18 2023

"It was great. I felt super comfortable nice environment and really nice staff. Thank you all for calming my nerves!"

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"The service quality was decent. I didn't get all results for my recent visit procedure, yet. Dr. Ballard sounded as very confident and experienced medical professional who provided all requested information."

5.0 Review from T.R. Source: Google Jun 01 2023

"Dr.Ballard really took the time to explain to me about the severity of my ulcerative colitis, as well as taking the time out to suggest the best treatment options..I highly recommend him for gastrointestinal care."

5.0 Review from T.R. Source: Google May 28 2023

"Dr.Ballard really took the time to explain to me about the severity of my ulcerative colitis as well as taking the time out to suggest the best treatment options..I highly recommend him for gastrointestinal services."

5.0 Review from L.F. Source: Google May 26 2023

"Dr.Ballard, Is the Best always patient with me, explaining my health concerns"

5.0 Review from E.N. Source: Google May 04 2023

"I was s little hesitant about being put to sleep but everyone there put my mind at ease. Before I knew it it was over. I read reviews about people saying it seemed like it was over before it started. I would 100% agree. True professionals and very nice. The whole process didn't hurt either."

5.0 Review from A.R. Source: Google May 04 2023

"Dr. Ballard is awesome, and the staff is fantastic!"

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Dr Ballard is a kind and understanding dr and what ever goin on with you he'll fix it and make you better"

5.0 Review from T.C. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Very knowledgeable. Dr Ballard knows what he is doing."

5.0 Review from L.P. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"I had a colonoscopy and it was short and easy."

5.0 Review from F.M. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Great Doctor! Very informative and professional."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr. Ballard and his entire team was phenomenal. This was my first time getting a colonoscopy and I was super nervous however they helped me to relax and explained the entire process. He also answered all of my questions. BIG Thanks! My overall experience was an A+++ 🙏"

5.0 Review from V.C. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Excellent"

5.0 Review from R.E. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Very thorough and good"

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Dr.Ballard is personable, empathetic and genuinely cares about his patients."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"I had a colonoscopy done. Dr. Ballard and his team were very professional and made everything comfortable. I would highly recommend him and his office."

5.0 Review from P.C. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"The staff is very friendly! Dr. Ballard was great and very personable."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"This was a first time visit and it went well. Dr. Ballard listened to my concerns and addressed them appropriately."

5.0 Review from A.W. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"The medical service was quality and very professional, in and out with no issues or problems, would recommend Dr Ballard to anyone going to him for services."

5.0 Review from B.M. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"My experience was very favorite able. What Dr. Ballard told me to do I did it. I have never had BM'S everyday in my life. I am forever indebted to him. Thank you Dr."

4.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Very friendly and nice"

5.0 Review from N.N. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Ballard is a very patient person. He listens and get to the bottom of your issues. I always leave my visits with him very pleased"

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"I was so, so Satisfied with my recent visit to Dr. Darren Ballard and his Amazing team of Nurses, Staff, Administrators, etc.; Thank you Dr. Ballard & Your Amazing Staff! Greatly appreciated the wonderful service I received!"

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr Darren Ballard is friendly and professional, and has a pleasant bedside manner. He performed my procedure in a timely manner and spent time with me explaining the results. I found him to be a personable individual, well mannered, and very knowledgeable."

5.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Dr. Ballard had a great bedside manner."

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr.Darren Ballard is a good doctor he’s extremely nice and cares about his patients. I highly recommend Dr. Ballard if you have any stomach problems."

4.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Ballard was engaging. He took the time to review my records when I kept saying"I don't know " to his questions. I had a brain freeze in that moment but he took the time to explain next steps and I actually felt like a human being and not just a number when I left there."

5.0 Review from J.K. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Ballard spent a lot of time with me asking questions and seemed genuinely concerned for my health. He explained my issues in a way that was easy to understand. He made sure I knew how we were going to approach my care."

5.0 Review from J.E. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Ballard is caring, understanding, professional, kind, considerate, answers our questions patiently, informative, and follows through. His staff is loving, patient, understanding, considerate and so easy to be around. They are all encouraging, professional, faithful, and many beautiful smiles. You can tell they care for you. They are so supportive. I cannot say anything negative. We are grateful to Jesus for directing us to you. Thank you for being there for us. God bless you all in Jesus Name."

5.0 Review from M.H. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I had a very pleasant visit. He was very personable and patient with me. I will definitely recommend his services."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Great Doctor! Understands the patient problems and suggests a great direction."

5.0 Review from R.N. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Very professional and courteous."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Ballard took time to talk to me about the procedure and what to expect. Very nice man."

4.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"My Dr visit with Dr. Ballard went well and quickly. He is very thorough. The receptionists were not very attentive workers. I was standing a long time before being asked who I was."

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr. Ballard is very kind and professional. He answers all questions. I would always recommend him."

5.0 Review from G.C. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Very thorough"

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"The best everything went well,,"

5.0 Review from K.L. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"This was my very first colonoscopy and the staff made me feel comfortable, they were kind, my procedure was quick and painless. I’d definitely recommend to family and friends."

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Perfect Explaining everything Great bedside manors All-around Great guy"

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Was able to see Dr.Ballard due to another patient cancelation. He was very professional and answered my questions. I chose Dr Ballard based on the favorable recommendations of two of my friends. His staff also were very polite and professional."

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Customer service was great and I saw the provider on time!"

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Great professional experience, no side effects."

4.0 Review from P.M. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Everybody was helpful n took their time to make sure you were well taken care of. Dr. Ballard has very good bedside manner."

5.0 Review from N.L. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr.Ballard came in talk to me about my procedure, ask if I had any questions and made me feel comfortable. He took care of me"

5.0 Review from E.K. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Good doctor"

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Been with him 3 years. Great doctor, he takes the time to listen to your concerns and collaborates to come up with good solutions."

5.0 Review from B.D. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Very professional and extremely comfortable feeling when you visit his office"

5.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Everyone was very friendly and helpful when I had questions. Doctor Ballard was very patient and helpful when explaining possible treatment options."

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I was comfortable with Dr. Ballard and staff during our consultation."

5.0 Review from E.E. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr. Ballard has an excellent bedside manners. He take time to listen and he is nice, and reassuring."

5.0 Review from G.B. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Great GI MD. Awesome care and fantastic bedside manner. Favorite doc."

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr Ballard explained to me what caused my condition and what I need to do to help keep it under control"

5.0 Review from K.A. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr. Ballard consulted my 93 yr old mother & me on the best method to address her condition. He explained pros & cons of aggressive vs non- aggressive approaches of treatment. Dr. Ballard possesses the perfect balance of knowledge & accessibility. He is respectful & listens carefully to my mother’s opinions. I think he is a good GI physician."

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Dr. Ballard, is very patient. He didn't rush with me. And he listened to me. I will definitely recommend him to my family and friends."

5.0 Review from M.C. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"My second time visiting this gastroenterologist office and I must say that from the from desk to the doctor himself was awesome."

5.0 Review from D.J. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Ballard has compassion and patience for his patients everyone don't have that"

5.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very thorough in questions, symptoms and your thoughts. Very straight forward but with concern."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I've seen Dr.Ballard multiple times and he has been excellent every time. He explains everything and answers every question."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very professional and experienced doctor. Took time to answer my questions. Very professional staff and clean environment. Would recommend this practice."

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Ballard takes the time to address any concerns that I have and gives answers that are clear and understandable"

5.0 Review from K.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"The staff was very nice made me feel very comfortable. Dr Ballard explained the results and asked me if I had any questions. They called later in the day to make sure I was feeling OK I would definitely recommend them."

5.0 Review from K.D. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Ballard is the first doctor in a long time that actually listened and seemed to genuinely care about my well-being and treatment plan. While the office is a bit busy at this time, it was a very welcoming team."

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google May 25 2022

"He's a great doctor that cares about what's going on with you and your health."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Attentive professional and caring"

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I like the fact that he was candid. I will have a procedure done by him next month. I hope things will work out."

5.0 Review from T.R. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Doctor Ballard is a great doctor he expedited my care and procedure. He has a great bedside manner. He is a very down to earth person .I really appreciate his concern for my health. I recommend Dr Ballard to anyone in need of a great doctor."

5.0 Review from T.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"From the moment I met Dr Ballard I liked him he didn’t hurry you up he stayed answered any concerns or questions you had. His staff has always been pleasant to me I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from C.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Ballard very Professional , expressed a great deal of concern and care during my initial examination ; very through and expedited my Procedure at my request.These Qualities you don't see in many Institutions today. In future I would highly recommend family and friends. Thank You Dr. Ballard."

4.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Service was good. He listened to my concerns and answered accordingly."