Patient Reviews

At GI Alliance of Illinois, we are a physician-led practice with a patient-centric focus, meaning you will always be our top priority. We know how important it is to feel comfortable with your provider and to know that you are cared about every step of the way. When choosing a provider, it is important to find one that is not only knowledgeable about your GI condition but one that can provide you with the support you need. Our practice is known across the state because of our top rated gastroenterologists and staff. We would love for you to browse through the reviews below from past and present patients who have been right where you are so that you can make the most informed decision when choosing a GI provider. Once you have read the reviews, reach out to a GI Alliance of Illinois location near you— we would love a chance to connect with you and find out how we can help you achieve better GI health.

5.0 Review from L.E. Source: Google Jul 03 2024

"it Office gets five stars overall great very professional"

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Jun 21 2024

"You will not find more gracious and professional doctor. Absolutely no complaints."

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Jun 20 2024

"You will not find more gracious and professional doctor. Absolutely no complaints."

4.0 Review from A.F. Source: Google May 25 2024

"Great staff and efficient procedure"

5.0 Review from R. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Everything was great and I feel fine after the procedure"

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Dr. Schoenig is the absolute best. He cares about this patients and takes the time to explain procedures and diagnoses. I absolutely recommend him to anyone seeking a GI doctor."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Excellent experience with Dr Schoenig, answered all my questions, he took the time to hear my concerns. Very helpful and comforting in putting together a care plan for me. His staff is kind, caring and helpful. Most definitely recommend this Doctor. 5 stars for sure !!!"

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Very professional and kind."

5.0 Review from S.R. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Great overall experience for a colonoscopy! (I cannot believe I just typed out that sentence - LOL)"

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Feb 28 2024

"Five star service. Everyone was pleasant and professional. I would recommend Doctor Schoenig."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Feb 21 2024

"Very professional and prompt"

5.0 Review from B.G. Source: Google Feb 20 2024

"Dr Schoenig and team always have done a great job."

5.0 Review from C.A. Source: Google Feb 17 2024

"From check-in to departure, the staff were pleasant and comforting. Doctor’s post-procedure talk was clear, concise and with a good sense of humor."

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google Feb 17 2024

"Professional, thorough, caring. Outstanding medical services."

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Feb 09 2024

"I was told I would get a call this week about results and how often I would now need / have future colonoscopies & nobody has called with that information."

5.0 Review from P.S. Source: Google Jan 26 2024

"Great doctor very thorough with highly recommend"

5.0 Review from C.F. Source: Google Jan 24 2024

"This was a very easy procedure after you got done with the prep. I love this office because everyone is so kind and explains things well!"

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google Dec 29 2023

"They, the entire staff and doctor, were courteous, caring and professional. They were prompt and on time with the procedure and same with the discharge."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Dec 13 2023

"We have been to Dr. Schoenig for many years with excellent results even with his referrals for other medical care."

5.0 Review from R.T. Source: Google Dec 07 2023

"The staff, from receptionist, nurses, anesthesiologist, and Dr. Shoeing were very courteous, professional, and knowledgeable. I would recommend them to anyone."

5.0 Review from V.V. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"Although I doubt anyone looks forward to colonoscopies, Dr. Schoenig is very personable, professional and has an excellent bedside manner. Would highly recommend Dr. Schoenig and GI Alliance!"

5.0 Review from V.E. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"The staff at GI Alliance is always very caring and professional. Dr. Schoenig is wonderful!!! All doctors should be as patient, caring AND humorous as he is! I received my test results in a very timely manner as well. I highly recommend this practice."

5.0 Review from K.L. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"This was my first procedure here, and it was a great experience! The staff was friendly & helpful. Dr. Schoenig was professional, personable, & caring. I will return again!"

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Nov 09 2023

"Excellent experience with top notch doctor, nurses, techs, and anesthesiologist. I wouldn't go anywhere else."

5.0 Review from T.W. Source: Google Nov 07 2023

"He is one of the best doctors I have ever had the pleasure of knowing."

5.0 Review from D.K. Source: Google Nov 06 2023

"Dr. Schoenig took the time literally to understand the problems that Wilburta A. Kirby (10-20-1941) has had and is currently experiencing. Very complete analysis of situation, and with the follow up recommendation. Dr. Schoenig wanted to keep informed of further developments and doctor appointments. Very satisfied with the encounter."

5.0 Review from R.D. Source: Google Nov 05 2023

"I was satisfied with the procedure."

5.0 Review from G.J. Source: Google Nov 03 2023

"I had a colonoscopy and the staff and doctor were very friendly and thorough . My procedure went very smooth and I was in and out quickly. The staff called to check up on me and sent text reminders to see if I had any questions about the preparation for the colonoscopy."

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google Nov 01 2023

"Great experience from start to finish. A+"

5.0 Review from B.F. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"The whole process went as well as could be expected and everyone was pleasant."

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Oct 18 2023

"Dr. Schoenig is an amazing doctor with wonderful bedside manner."

5.0 Review from A.D. Source: Google Oct 18 2023

"Professional and caring!"

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Oct 03 2023

"They have the patients best interest in mind Very knowledgeable and professional Highly recommend"

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Sep 28 2023

"Always the best experience with Dr. Schoenig. Very caring and detailed. I always feel comfort in his care. A 10"

5.0 Review from M.U. Source: Google Sep 18 2023

"Dr Schoenig is great! Our whole family has seen him. He was willing to see our special needs daughter and help with her treatment. He takes time and listens."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Sep 15 2023

"Always good to have quality care and clear insights on my digestive health. Dr. Schoenig and the staff are top notch."

5.0 Review from J.D. Source: Google Sep 15 2023

"Very pleased with Dr. Schoenig and the office staff. They were all friendly and helpful. I really appreciated Dr. Schoenig asking pertinent questions to begin his research into my case. I left believing he knows what he is doing and trust that he will be able to determine what is causing my problems."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Sep 13 2023

"Dr. Schoenig is very knowledgeable and has a very kind way of treating his patients. He listens to my concerns and always takes the time to explain things in a way that I understand. I also, always feel like I am part of the decision making in my care."

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Aug 05 2023

"Dr. Schoenig is great. He is very thorough. He always takes the time to carefully listen to any questions or concerns you may have. He provides detailed answers, broken down into layman's terms. I would readily recommend Dr. Schoenig to family and friends."

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Jul 21 2023

"Very happy with service kind and very thoughtful"

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Jul 10 2023

"I think Dr Schoenig hit the nail on the head with our last visit, thank you Dr."

5.0 Review from J.Z. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"Very nice staff doctor schoenig is one of the nicest doctors I’ve ever met"

5.0 Review from K.F. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"Highly recommend! Excellent service from the time I called to make an appointment to meeting with Dr Schoenig."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google May 18 2023

"He is a good doctor and is nice and very caring"

5.0 Review from D.K. Source: Google May 04 2023

"Dr Schoenig is a wonderful, caring Dr. I would strongly recommend."

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Kenneth R. Schoenig, M.D. and Nurse Olivia were extremely competent in their communication. Dr. Schoenig was excellent with the consultation and I felt very comfortable."

5.0 Review from N.W. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Dr Schoenig is kind and friendly. He listened to me. Together we can find a conclusion to my issues."

5.0 Review from T.R. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Dr Schoenig is an amazing doctor! He was personally involved in resolving our issues"

5.0 Review from A.R. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Dr. Schoenig is an excellent doctor. He is very personable and explains things very well. He spends a good amount of time with you discussing the issues."

5.0 Review from M.C. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Dr. Schoenig and the nurses spend time with you. Very thorough. Answer all of your questions. Nice office staff and techs. A lot of my family goes to this office!"

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Caring, compassionate doctor. Would highly recommend. 5⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️s"

5.0 Review from W.H. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr. Schoenig basically takes care of my entire family when it comes to GI diseases/disorders. He gives good medical advice and shares his knowledge on various procedures and medications. Then he kindly sits back, answers questions, and gives his patients enough information to make informed decisions. Even behind the scenes, he and his staff advocate for their patients and find ways to make things happen when there are barriers in the way. He truly cares for his patients and works hard to help meet their medical needs. He is intentional when he walks in the room and appointments never feel rushed."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"A very good doctor to go see as a gaserologist office"

5.0 Review from L.D. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"A great Dr been with him for years taken great care of my wife and I"

5.0 Review from A.G. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Great doc! Listened to my issues and we are working to resolve my issues. I was nervous to see a specialist but he made an easy experience."

5.0 Review from A.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"He is such an amazing doctor!! He truly cares about you, your health needs and finding an answer to fix your body!"

5.0 Review from D.P. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Highly recommend Dr Schoenig great doctor and easy to communicate with"

5.0 Review from L.W. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I have been going to Dr Schoenig for about 10 years. He knows his stuff and will be straight with you. Overall great guy. I trust him completely. His care made a drastic change for the better for me."

5.0 Review from G.M. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr Schoenig has guided me through issues on both ends over the years and I'm extremely grateful for his knowledge and expertise. I always feel like I'm in great hands as we venture through these procedures and I have the utmost confidence in his abilities as a Digestive Disease professional. He's extremely personal and someone I consider to be a good friend!!"

5.0 Review from H.S. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Great Doctor. Dr Schoenig listens to my concerns and takes time to explain in detail."

5.0 Review from S.L. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Doctor Ken has a wonderful bedside manner. He answer's your questions and presents you with all the options in a easy to understand manner. I am one who rarely visits a doctor and he made the experience as pleasant as possible. I would strongly incourage anyone to visit Dr. Kenneth R. Schoenig for their medical needs."

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Schoenig is a wonderful, no nonsense doctor. He took my complaints seriously, talked me through my options, and created a plan to take care of my complaints. It felt good to be heard and would recommend him to everybody."

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I’ve been with him since 2009. Until I met him my health was not controlled. After meeting him and finding out the problem I’ve been good to go. I travel over an hour and half to see him since moving but I will not switch doctors!"

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I am so thankful to have Dr. Schoenig as my doctor. I would add a ditto to all of the words of praise that have been posted by other of his patients. I trust his judgment, professionalism, and ability as an outstanding physician. I would recommend him to anyone looking for the best in his line of medicine. Most of all I have confidence in his ability to meet MY needs."

5.0 Review from B.L. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Everyone was accommodating and helpful from start to finish. Dr Schoenig explained the procedure and was thorough in the results."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"He was very good and completely caring for his patients"

5.0 Review from D.V. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Staff are friendly and helpful here. Only problem is that Google map for this hospital is confusing it will always lead you to emergency clinics.Doc schoenig is very good and patient. During the procedure there is no pain or uncomfortable feelings"

5.0 Review from E.W. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Fast friendly helpful I would recommend him"

5.0 Review from E.C. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"A wonderful group of care givers. Our community is so fortunate they are here and have provided consistent quality care."

5.0 Review from E.U. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"I was very comfortable as the nurse asked my health questions. They gave me time to change and get comfortable."

5.0 Review from E.H. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Schoenig is a very competent physician."

5.0 Review from S.Z. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"It has been very easy to work with Dr. Schoenig and his staff. They take the time to explain fully and answer questions. The procedure is painless and results are good. I trust Dr. Schoenig's recommendations for course of action."

5.0 Review from R.D. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Schoneig has my doctor for over 13 years. We totally trust and respect him. He takes all the time you need to understand. Great doctor!!"

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"My experience with Dr Schoenig was excellent. As always, he was very thorough, personable and caring."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr.Schoenig takes time to listen and understand all of your health concerns. He has a great bedside manor as well. He's very compassionate and caring. I highly recommend!"

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Schoenig is very personable, explains things well, and answers questions. He has great expertise in his field. The Digestive Disease Endoscopy Center is very efficient and all staff were friendly and seem to be very thorough. They were on time and provide many reminders and instructions prior to your procedure. I recommend Dr. Schoenig to whoever may be in need of a Gastroenterologist!"

5.0 Review from M.Z. Source: Google Oct 21 2022

"Staff are friendly and helpful here. Only problem is that Google map for this hospital is confusing it will always lead you to emergency clinics.Doc schoenig is very good and patient. During the procedure there is no pain or uncomfortable feelings"

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr Shoenig listened carefully to me as I shared with him the health issues I was having. He didn’t rush me & gave me time to describe my health concerns. He helped me figure out a diagnosis plan to begin. When I suggested something I would like done he was very cooperative & guided me in setting those things up. I highly recommend him to anyone who is in need of gastroenterologist. His nurses & the office staff are very pleasant & willing to answer patients’ questions. Mary Lou Lawson"

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr Schoenig has been my doctor for many years. I highly recommend him! He is extremely thorough, knowledgeable, patient, and kind, and always takes the time to answer all of my questions."

5.0 Review from P.S. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Good experience very nice office and nice doctor. Prescribed labs and things to try to help me figure out what was going on with my stomach. Would recommend him to anyone who has stomach problems."

5.0 Review from R.N. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr Shoenig and his team are caring and super efficient. Dr Shoenig explained everything that will take place during the procedure as well as the team of nurses. Dr Shoenig came into recover to explain what he had found and then what the next steps will be. I can’t say enough good things about the entire staff."

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I've been seeing Dr. Schoenig for 20 years! He saved my life!!! I would not be here today without him. Kind, KNOWLEDGEABLE, attentive and patient!! He let's you talk and listens. I am SO BLESSED to have him for my GI doctor. You will be too!!"

5.0 Review from G. Source: Google Sep 08 2022

"I was looking for a new in-town GI and ended up with one of the best. Dr. Schoenig is not only professional and knowledgeable, but also has the friendly bedside manner every person wants when dealing with complex issues. He’s compassionate and values your concerns, recommends the best for anything he needs to refer you for. His team is wonderful and prompt with all communication. 5 Star Care!"

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"It was a marvelous experience. He explains everything in a way that's easily understood. He is an amazing doctor."

5.0 Review from P.M. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Schoenig did a great job listening to my concerns, answering questions, and outlining next steps. His entire office staff was friendly, thorough, and respectful of my time."

5.0 Review from V.E. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Schoenig is THE BEST. I won't go to anyone else. Great follow up, wonderful sense of humor and a great team of assistants. Very thorough, very caring. 5+ stars from me!"

5.0 Review from G.B. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I was looking for a new in-town GI and ended up with one of the best. Dr. Schoenig is not only professional and knowledgeable, but also has the friendly bedside manner every person wants when dealing with complex issues. He’s compassionate and values your concerns, recommends the best for anything he needs to refer you for. His team is wonderful and prompt with all communication. 5 Star Care!"

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Very professional and makes sure the patient is taken care of."

4.0 Review from T.D. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"This was my 3rd colonoscopy with Dr.Schoenig.Everything was fine,except this time when they injected the anesthesia into the port in my hand it was extremely painful.Almost unbearable.They said that they had no lanocane to prevent this injection pain as is usual.They said that they had ordered it but it had not come in.Other than that it was all fine."

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Great staff. Dr. S listens to you and is very thorough. He takes time with his patients. I'd recommend the office to anyone."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"My colonoscopy experience with Dr. Schoenig was very good. The nurses were all personable & excellent. Dr. Schoenig was great, personable & clear in his explanation of how the colonoscopy went. Two thumbs up!"

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Great doctor and staff. I would recommend to anyone"

5.0 Review from H.H. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr. Schoenig was exceptional in my brothers care. We are thankful for his knowledge and compassion."

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google May 25 2022

"From the moment I walk into this office till the time that I left the staff and Dr. Schoenig were amazing! I've gone here for years and they are always professional and caring!"