Patient Reviews

At GI Alliance of Illinois, we are a physician-led practice with a patient-centric focus, meaning you will always be our top priority. We know how important it is to feel comfortable with your provider and to know that you are cared about every step of the way. When choosing a provider, it is important to find one that is not only knowledgeable about your GI condition but one that can provide you with the support you need. Our practice is known across the state because of our top rated gastroenterologists and staff. We would love for you to browse through the reviews below from past and present patients who have been right where you are so that you can make the most informed decision when choosing a GI provider. Once you have read the reviews, reach out to a GI Alliance of Illinois location near you— we would love a chance to connect with you and find out how we can help you achieve better GI health.

Reviews for Glenview

5.0 Review from W.L. Source: Google Jul 11 2024

"Great, professional service by Anna"

5.0 Review from M.Z. Source: Google Jul 03 2024

"I think I have reviewed before, but I can again! Dr Qazi and his staff continue to be compassionate, listen, and work hard to meet my needs. I have had some odd and complex situations. Dr Qazi handles these with grace and grounds me even when things are uncertain. I am so grateful."

5.0 Review from B.R. Source: Google Jun 01 2024

"My primary care doctor recommended Dr Qasi after I was experiencing some gastro issues and I was due for a colonoscopy anyway. It was the best decision I made to follow her advice. The office staff was helpful and informative. Dr Qasi went above and beyond to help with the scheduling as I was traveling and he opened up his schedule to accommodate me. I've had 2 procedures performed by Dr Qasi. He was professional and did a great job explaining the procedure before hand and then after explaining the results so I understood what was happening. He is a concerned and caring doctor with a great bedside manner. The staff at the offices as well as the surgical center were kind, smart and efficient. I highly recommend Dr Qasi and the GI Alliance of Illinois! Excellent doctor! Addendum to my review... as I was writing this I received a call from Dr Qasi regarding a prescription he sent through to my pharmacy. There was a problem with the dosage. He personally called me this morning to let me know he adjusted it so insurance covers it. Dr Qasi is a doctor that cares!"

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google May 08 2024

"My Boyfriend had his colonoscopy at Lutheran General yesterday 5/1/24. Dr Qazi was fab , very thorough and professional. Explained everything clearly. The office ( Rachel ) was very helpful and other staff members too since I was making most of the calls and arranging this procedure The whole thing went smoothly and i definitely recommend this GI Lab and Dr Qazi"

5.0 Review from K. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Kindness and efficiency/competency shown by all"

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Mar 29 2024

"Best GI doctors around. Dr. Qazi is second to none. He changed my life. The biologics staff Anna and Liza are the absolute best and so efficient. Thank you guys for all you do."

5.0 Review from A.M. Source: Google Mar 29 2024

"Have been with Dr Merel for the last 17 yrs been on Remicade for about 14 years during whi time I have had noflareups. She is kind and understanding and the treatments are well given. No complaints."

5.0 Review from P.K. Source: Google Dec 14 2023

"Friendly, efficient staff. Physicians with an actual personality and positive bedside manner. It makes an “unpleasant” experience go by quickly and relatively stress free. Kudos all around."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Dec 07 2023

"Excellent!!!"

5.0 Review from M.K. Source: Google Dec 01 2023

"First visit to this office and a gastroenterologist in general. I was able to get an appointment 3 weeks out, which is much quicker than any other gastroenterology office I called. I saw Dr.Doniparthi for recurring abdominal pain. She is very kind, and walked me through potential diagnoses, and tests we would needed. Her first instinct was spot on, only one test needed. Within 2.5 weeks of my visit, I was having surgery to address the cause of my issues. Now 2 weeks post surgery and doing much better. If I hadn’t come here, I’d still be in pain and waiting for my appointment that I originally scheduled with a different medical office and provider."

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google Nov 03 2023

"This place is wonderful. The staff is warm and kind and I saw Dr. Doniparthi who was absolutely wonderful. She was wonderfully kind and patient while I asked a million nervous questions. I have a colonoscopy scheduled with her and I feel as if I am in excellent hands. Thank you!!!"

5.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google Oct 29 2023

"Professional, efficient, well organized."

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"I found Dr Doniparthi to be very pleasant and thorough."

5.0 Review from H.L. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"Comfortable and professional"

5.0 Review from E.M. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"I have my colonoscopy yesterday, great place warm people. I really recommend it. Five star."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google Oct 24 2023

"Attentive, on time, professional, kind, comprehensive, well staffed, competent."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Jun 17 2023

"I went here for a colon exam. The doctor kindly explained things in detail and asked questions, so I felt at ease."

5.0 Review from E.T. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"I have been a patient of Dr. Merel’s for many years. She is the best of the best. The endoscopy center is very well run and it’s staff fabulous."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr Gupta has been my moms doctor as well as mine and my husbands. We continue to see Dr Gupta for his kind nature, excellent patient care and good bed side manner. He continues to make the colonoscopy experience stress free. His staff have always been very professional and kind."

5.0 Review from S. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I had a visit with Dr. Vainder for stomach issues and his bedside manner is top notch. He’s funny and warm. I also had a colonoscopy with him and all went well. Definitely recommend him…"

5.0 Review from C.R. Source: Google Sep 04 2022

"Dr. Vander is an awesome doctor made me feel comfortable on the day of my colonscopy and endoscopy test. He explained everything to me and introduced his staff everyone was so kind and polite I would highly recommend Dr vainder to anyone great job..."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr Vainder is outstanding. He and his staff are wonderful. I highly recommend him!!"

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Illinois Gastroenterology Group is where I had my first Colonoscopy procedure and I was a bit nervous but the staff made me feel quite comfortable. They were very thorough explaining how the procedure was going to be done. I will definitely return when my next procedure is due."

5.0 Review from R.L. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr Vainder is very personable and takes the time to listen and doesn’t jump to conclusions I would highly recommend him"

5.0 Review from H.B. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Phenomenal experience from start to finish. Quality receptionist, nurses and doctor Patel. It was 1st colonoscopy so naturally I was nervous, but my brother who’s a doctor highly recommended him. In hindsight, I can see why he did."

5.0 Review from B.R. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Dr. Vander is an awesome doctor made me feel comfortable on the day of my colonscopy and endoscopy test. He explained everything to me and introduced his staff everyone was so kind and polite I would highly recommend Dr vainder to anyone great job..."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Exceptional group of GI physicians. I've seen Dr. Bloom for 10+ years and is fantastic from a clinical perspective but also from a personal perspective. The same can be said for Dr. Merel who my wife has seen."

5.0 Review from W.S. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Simply the best."

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I don't really need to see doctors on a regular schedule outside of a yearly physical but when I'm in need I ask for a referral from my primary and in this case he asked me to contact Dr. Daksesh Patel. From the appointment made in advance, to the day of procedure, the staff, nurses and Dr. Patel were terrific 👍. I would highly recommend Dr. Patel for your Colonoscopy. Randy Cassel Lincolnwood, IL"

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"The doctor is extremely good. He carefully explains the procedures and then performs them. He personally follows up with you after the procedure."

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Was the best experience that I have ever had for a colonoscopy. Dr Vainderr was quick, personable and thorough."

5.0 Review from B.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Nina Merel is one of the best doctors who has treated me; and that's saying a lot since I've had multiple hospitalizations and 8 major surgeries. In fall 2020, Dr. Merel accommodated me during Covid within 24 hours. I had made a mistake in prepping for a colonoscopy and Dr. Merel reset the appointment for the next day & got me another Covid test within that same 24 hr. period. Her dedication to her patients is remarkable. Dr. Merel is considerate, has a wonderful bedside manner and, from my experience, obviously cares about her patients."

5.0 Review from B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"This is one of the best organized and most efficient clinics I've had the pleasure of visiting, and with the long list of procedures I have undergone, both inpatient and outpatient, the list is very long. From the reception/intake station through to discharge, the staff was friendly, efficient, and very professional. Dr. Patel and his technician seem to have a solid collegial relationship, essential for anxiety causing procedures. They are an uplifting team to having working on one's internal issues."

5.0 Review from P.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I have been seeing Dr. Vainder for over 10 years and have had several procedures done. I would highly recommend him to everyone. He makes an uncomfortable situation much easier with his excellent sense of humor and professionalism. The whole process runs so smoothly and efficiently and everyone is most helpful and kind."

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Oct 09 2021

"Dr. Bloom is one of the most exceptional physicians I've ever worked with as a professional and as a patient. I'm a nurse with advanced clinical training and the patient he has cared for over the past 10 years. I am impressed by his professionalism and expertise in his field as well as his exceptional communication skills. I would recommend him highly."

4.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Aug 12 2021

"Great doctor. He really spends time with you and listens to you."

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google Jun 17 2021

"Amazing GI. She cares and takes time with. Not just another doctor but someone who actually wants to help me and is so compassionate about what she does."

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google Jun 17 2021

"Dr. Chi has been my GI doctor for almost twenty years. He is excellent, he always provides sound advise and attention to my chronic condition. He follows up asap and he even called me on Thanksgiving one year to follow up!!! He is also very kind and personable, I highly recommend Dr Chi,"

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Jun 17 2021

"Dr. Shapiro is a caring doctor who has the ability to listen and explain in layman's terms as to what is the problem. Not easy to find."

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google Jun 17 2021

"After only a few minutes of conversation I knew I made the right choice. I am confident I will get the best treatment and medical attention/advice from Dr.Adler!"

5.0 Review from B.L. Source: Google Jun 08 2021

"Been going to Dr. Qazi for several years. He is kind and always listen to his patients needs and concern."

5.0 Review from S.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr, Vainder saved my life. He made a scary situation less scary. His bedside manner is A+"

5.0 Review from S.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Shapiro has been an incredible physician and support for my husband and our family. He is always very patient, always a good listener, detail oriented, and genuine. We value his recommendations greatly and appreciate his close care. Thank you for everything Dr. Shapiro."

5.0 Review from S.A. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Qazi is an amazing doctor that knows all about the latest treatments. He truly helped me with my issues when my first specialist had no clue what was going on. He is very particular with what he does and test he request to pin point the right approach to help you. I'll recommend him to any one that has in GI issues for sure. Glad I found him. Thanks"

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I saw Dr.Bloom twice for my GI problems.He is a good listener, pays attentions to details,explains plan of care well.Appears to be compasionate.Apointment was not rushed.Ordered much needed tests.Need to follow up with in the future,hpe he will continue to stand up to my initial opinion of him."

5.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Chi, words cannot describe how grateful I am for you. Thank you for taking such great care of me. You are truly a remarkable doctor and professional that we respect and trust. Thank you for everything Dr. Chi"

5.0 Review from P.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Shapiro has been the best GI that I have ever had. I have been in remission now for the first time since I was diagnosed over 34 years ago. Dr Shapiro has an amazing bedside manner and is very easy to talk to. I would highly recommend him to anyone who needs a great GI"

5.0 Review from J.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I was promptly called for my appointment. Dr. Adler was very thorough and not rushed."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Treated right away. All my questions were answered. Excellent staff."

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He is a great Doctor and listen your problem/symptoms very carefully..."

5.0 Review from E.Z. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Schapiro it’s not only knowledgeable about his medical field, but also a caring person. He tries his best to treat everyone."

5.0 Review from H.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Jacob’s was a great find and a tremendous referral from my physician. Very laid back, but extremely thorough. If you’re having any GI issues, get in touch with him and go see him. Great front office staff and nurses across the board."

5.0 Review from I.E. Source: Google May 25 2021

"This was my first visit with Dr. Qazi. He was great. was really interested in what I had to say. He helped me get through what I thought was a terrible experience. He explained everything very clearly. He actually called me after the appointment to let me know results of some tests. I was so pleasantly surprised with his interest and concern for me. I am so not used to a Doctor who cares."

5.0 Review from E.R. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Excellent service. Dr has always been up to the mark."

5.0 Review from F.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Shapiro is a caring and thoughtful physician. On my first visit, he spent time getting to know me and my history. He made me feel as if he cared not only about my physical issues, but about me as a person. I never felt rushed and he addressed all of my “fears” and concerns. The Glen Endoscopy Center was the BEST! Everyone was focused on making me feel comfortable. I highly recommend Dr. Shapiro !"

5.0 Review from G.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Easy to talk to and explained everything"

5.0 Review from A.E. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I so appreciated Dr Bloom’s advice and follow up while under his care. His medical guidance and thoughtful concern helped alleviate my lengthy discomfort and worry. I am my “old self” thanks to his diagnosis and treatment."

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Outstanding experience with Dr Jacobs and team. Friendly and attentive team in a non-hospital setting that is comfortable for the patient. Highly recommend"

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Getting in to see the doctor was the only thing that was very frustrating. Once with the doctor I found her to be very caring and attentive. Dr. Merel truly cares for her patients!"

5.0 Review from B.L. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Been going to Dr. Qazi for several years. He is kind and always listen to his patients needs and concern."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Chi is very knowledgeable and he really cares about his patients. I was seeing several gastroenterologists and nobody was able to help me. It was a blessing for me to meet Dr. Chi. He was the only one who found the way to relieve my suffering."

5.0 Review from K.V. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Chi, thank you for your phone consult. Your words gave me comfort and confidence in trying to understand a puzzling diagnosis. It had been 12 years since you had done an ERCP on me and I wasn't sure you would remember me but when setting up the phone consult your nurse stated "oh yes, Dr. Chi knows your case well" really set me at ease."

5.0 Review from L.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I was REALLY anxious about needing a colonoscopy but Dr. Jacobs and everyone who took care of me put me at ease. I felt like 3 seconds had passed by me when I woke up after the procedure. It was so simple and there was no pain or discomfort. I had results handed to me shortly after waking up and learned right away that there were zero problems internally and I wouldn’t need to have another colonoscopy for TEN YEARS! Dr. Jacobs and the clinic he works at had come highly recommended to me and now I know why. If you need a gastroenterologist or a procedure done then you need to contact Dr. Jacobs."

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I needed an emergency appointment and the staff and Dr. Adler accommodated me. Dr. Adler listened and gave me medication and instructions which has helped me. That is as far as I have gotten at this point."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google May 25 2021

"De Shapiro is the best !!!"

5.0 Review from L.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Excellent medical care. Highly recommended."

5.0 Review from P.G. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Adler has provided exceptionally good care of our family for decades. Now during the COVID pandemic we were relieved to have access Dr. Adler's care and expertise virtually."

5.0 Review from P.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Shapiro is an outstanding professional who knows and understands me. He takes the time to listen to me, and takes my health care seriously. He documents patient visits with excellent notes that make future visits more productive. I highly recommend Dr. Shapiro."

5.0 Review from M.P. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Adler is what you want in a doctor, he’s caring, professional and explains things to you in a way that you can understand, this is the Doctor you want to help you with what ever medical issues you may have"

5.0 Review from M.V. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Jeffrey Jacobs was providing procedures for me and my family few times in the past 10 years. I highly recommend him. He is excellent surgeon and very thorough. Surgical facility was clean, all nurses and doctors were polite, professional and made you comfortable."

5.0 Review from O. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Everything was in time, all questions were successfully resolved."

5.0 Review from A.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"There are doctors and there are Heros! Baseer Qazi is a Hero! Outstanding care by an amazing physician."

5.0 Review from F.D. Source: Google Dec 18 2020

"Dr. Shapiro is a caring and thoughtful physician. On my first visit, he spent time getting to know me and my history. He made me feel as if he cared not only about my physical issues, but about me as a person. I never felt rushed and he addressed all of my “fears” and concerns. The Glen Endoscopy Center was the BEST! Everyone was focused on making me feel comfortable. I highly recommend Dr. Shapiro !"

5.0 Review from L.A. Source: Google Sep 25 2020

"He is GREAT!!!!"

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Sep 25 2020

"Dr. Qazi is the best. Knowledgeable, easy to work with, and holds me accountable. I am in good hands. Highly recommend."

5.0 Review from V.K. Source: Google Sep 25 2020

"Dr. Qazi is the best gastroenterologist! He's patient, calm, and listens. I've been to him twice so far. First time was in 2016 when I was having gallbladder attacks without knowing and he was the only one who found it. The rest kept telling me that it was panick attacks or anxiety attacks and I knew that this was not the case. He found my problem! Awesome doctor and highly recommend."

4.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Sep 25 2020

"I have been seeing Dr Jacobs for years. He tries to be helpful and I think he has become a better listener. I would like it if he could show a little more affect and expression. I wonder why they have so many different tech assistants. Seems like I get a different one every time. The office waiting area is very pretty and the receptionists are usually nice and helpful. I feel I basically have gotten good care."

5.0 Review from D.R. Source: Google Sep 02 2020

"Dr.Qazi is very courteous with great bedside manner. He is also knowledgeable and listened to my concerns. Though the wait time can be improved upon, I was extremely satisfied with my visit."

5.0 Review from P.K. Source: Google Jun 17 2020

"Dr. Shapiro is a great doctor who listens to his patients and is interested in their lives and how IBD affects his patients."

5.0 Review from E.L. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Very friendly and professional staff. Dr. Bloom is a very knowledgeable physician. Excellent referral by my PCP."

5.0 Review from R. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr.Qazi is very courteous with great bedside manner. He is also knowledgeable and listened to my concerns. Though the wait time can be improved upon, I was extremely satisfied with my visit."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr. Qazi is awesome! He actually takes time to listen and explain, an uncommon trait among so many of today's doctors."

5.0 Review from A.K. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Appointment was clear and direct. Got what we came for under 30 minutes"

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr Shapiro was on time for his appointment and he is always easy to talk to."

5.0 Review from W.G. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr Adler was great. Spent time with me explaining my medications & diagnosis."

5.0 Review from T.M. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr. Shapiro and his staff are wonderful. Dr. Shapiro is very easy to talk to and very down to earth. I have been seeing him for quite some time and his demeanor has never changed. I highly recommend him!"

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Doctor knows what he is doing. Never seen this much attentive doctor before. Awesome care."

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr. Merel is a terrific and caring practitioner. I appreciate her good communication skills as well."

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr Bloom is awesome for the a procedure all patients dread (lol) Dr David Altman was great with my anesthesia as the procedure went flawless... Jennifer RN was great for my pre and post procedure....thank you all for taking good care of me :-)"

5.0 Review from M.N. Source: Google May 25 2020

"I felt very comfortable upon arrival. The staff was kind, respectful and courteous. I was taken back to see Dr. Shapiro on time. The Nurse was also kind and efficient. Dr. Shapiro came in the room within only a couple of minutes and showed compassion and understanding. I knew I had been referred to a Dr. that would work with me to find a solution to my issues. I felt relieved and happy when I left knowing I would feel physically better soon. A big thank you to Dr. Shapiro and his staff for that day!!"

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr. Shapiro is an excellent doctor, taking time to answer questions with clarity. Highly recommend!"

5.0 Review from M.Q. Source: Google May 25 2020

"A personable staff and dr Bloom was great! One never knows what type of personality to expect, with THIS speciality. I am looking forward to my colonoscopy! 😆"

4.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google May 25 2020

"We would appreciate more detailed instruction of using prescribed medicines."