Patient Reviews

At GI Alliance of Illinois, we are a physician-led practice with a patient-centric focus, meaning you will always be our top priority. We know how important it is to feel comfortable with your provider and to know that you are cared about every step of the way. When choosing a provider, it is important to find one that is not only knowledgeable about your GI condition but one that can provide you with the support you need. Our practice is known across the state because of our top rated gastroenterologists and staff. We would love for you to browse through the reviews below from past and present patients who have been right where you are so that you can make the most informed decision when choosing a GI provider. Once you have read the reviews, reach out to a GI Alliance of Illinois location near you— we would love a chance to connect with you and find out how we can help you achieve better GI health.

Reviews for Normal

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Feb 24 2024

"Alexis was amazing!!! She was very compassionate and understanding! She took the time to listen and addressed all of my questions. Staff is very friendly as well. Everyone welcomed me with a smile!"

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google Feb 17 2024

"I always feel very at ease when I come here.Dr Clark is the best there is at what he does.The nurses and all the staff are very professional."

4.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Feb 14 2024

"It was very beneficial for me."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Feb 09 2024

"PA Hess listen very carefully to me and she understood and paid attention. I’m waiting to see what my test results are.m"

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Feb 03 2024

"Amy is terrific. She is very thorough and kind."

5.0 Review from R.S. Source: Google Feb 01 2024

"Very knowledgeable, answered all questions."

5.0 Review from C.R. Source: Google Feb 01 2024

"Very professional staff and show they care"

5.0 Review from K.H. Source: Google Jan 26 2024

"I had Lexi and she was awesome! We talked about where my pain is and all of my medication. Which we are changing to see if it helps. We discussed implanting a device in my esophagus to monitor my acid I had never heard of that before but am willing to try it. A great appointment!!!"

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google Jan 24 2024

"Although I've been a patient here for several years, I had Megan Becker as my provider for the first time. She took time to listen to me, she answered my questions, and she had a great "bedside manner" in the office."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Jan 24 2024

"Amy provided excellent service by listening patiently to all my concerns and providing guidance."

5.0 Review from M.H. Source: Google Jan 17 2024

"The warmth and friendliness of this office is outstanding ! I saw Amy and she is so blessed with intelligence, concern and knowledge that I was very comfortable. My questions were answered finally . This is practicing medicine in the highest degree ! Thank you so much !!!!!"

5.0 Review from L.P. Source: Google Jan 12 2024

"I was a medicaid referral to Dr. PENN FOR A 3RD LIFETIME COLONOSCOPY. PERFORMED AT EUREKA HOSPITAL. THIS IS YOUR PLACE!! DR. PENN IS TOP NOTCH, GREAT BEDSIDE MANNER...AND A FABULOUS COMMUNICATOR. Every single phone call, directive and aspect of my experience could not have been better. Plus, I learned things about my own body I didn't know and I usually think I know it all. Most people never say "my colonoscopy was fabulous" ...but surprisingly as I rode home that's exactly how I viewed it! Schedule your gastro needs here...it's quality care regardless of coverage!!!"

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Google Jan 06 2024

"Everyone was extremely friendly and I got into the doctor quickly. The Doctor was very good at explaining the issues and how to help resolve them."

5.0 Review from S.T. Source: Google Jan 05 2024

"I was seen very punctually. Was given short notice appointment with Amy Stites who is fantastic. Addresses all concerns with full explanation. I have complete faith in Dr. Misra and Amy Stites for testing and treatments."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Dec 22 2023

"It’s such a friendly, relatable staff! I saw Whitney and Amy during my visit. They did more than just take and analyze my information, they made me feel like family. I’ve used Dr. Schoenig’s office for years and have had a similar experience every time, including with the doctor himself. Highly recommended."

5.0 Review from P.S. Source: Google Dec 20 2023

"Pretty Good. I have been a patient with Dr Schoenig for many years. They have a Great Team to be under their care during my colonocopies ."

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google Dec 13 2023

"They are a wonderful group"

5.0 Review from D.N. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"Everybody was extremely nice and the whole process was quick and easy!"

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Nov 08 2023

"Great medical staff. Short wait in the waiting room, both up front and once I was in the exam room. Front office reception staff was very friendly."

5.0 Review from C.K. Source: Google Nov 06 2023

"We were so impressed with the kind and professional treatment from the staff! Thank you for getting us in quickly and your guidance and care."

5.0 Review from A.D. Source: Google Nov 03 2023

"I saw Lexi (NP) for my swallowing complaint. She is very personable, knowlegable, and she took time to answer my questions. I’m very happy with the care she provided!"

5.0 Review from C.K. Source: Google Oct 31 2023

"We were so impressed with the kind and professional treatment from the staff! Thank you for getting us in quickly and your guidance and care."

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google Oct 30 2023

"Megan was very thorough and listened to every question/concern I had."

5.0 Review from J.K. Source: Google Oct 30 2023

"Quick and easy!! For a 'less than desirable' experience, the team made it as good as possible!"

5.0 Review from P.S. Source: Google Oct 28 2023

"Professional, organized, and friendly staff."

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google Oct 28 2023

"Each visit, every employee is absolutely friendly and kind. Acts like they actually enjoy being there! Impressive these days."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"Amy is the best!"

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google Sep 27 2023

"They caught something serous for me I’m so glad they and dr pin was there for me"

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Jun 16 2023

"I’ve gone to them for 10+ years and they have always been great!"

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"Magen was AWESOME! As is Dr. Schoenig. Great place, helpful people."

5.0 Review from D.J. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"Megan Becker was friendly and took the time to answer all my questions. I would recommend her."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"Call m passionate and professional staff at every level."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"I felt very comfortable with Dr. Clark. I enjoyed his humor. The only issue I have is the very slow response to calls made to the phone nurse. I do understand the reason has to do with being understaffed and that is not to blame on the office. Otherwise, I like the voice of the Nurse that I have spoken with. It is very compassionate."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google May 25 2023

"I wouldn’t go anywhere else."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google May 18 2023

"Great place to go to"

5.0 Review from K.A. Source: Google May 04 2023

"I appreciate the time Megan Becker spends with me to find the right solution to my problem. Then she has the nurse follow up with me in a couple weeks."

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Just very busy so procedures are a long wait."

5.0 Review from M.N. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"It was a wonderful experience- Amy - physician assistant was great"

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Not only was every staff member gracious, the physicians assistant who handled my office visit was extremely patient. I felt like she was relaxed and willing to answer any question I might have."

5.0 Review from A.H. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Care received here has always been very pleasant and professional. If you are struggling with GI issues Dr. Robert Clark and his staff are the ones to see."

5.0 Review from C.K. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Staff is very friendly, helpful, and thorough. Minimal wait time. Highly recommend."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"The doctors and nurses here are top notch. The respect, dignity and bed side manner is second to none."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Everyone I have met here is so very kind and thorough. I felt like my care was very important."

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Dr. Penn has diagnosed a rare illness for me and an friend. The friend had seemed help with several docs and Mayos. I have total faith in him."

5.0 Review from F.N. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Every one works together well as a team. They are kind, helpful and knowledgeable."

5.0 Review from M.P. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Very professional and personable. Amy informed me of what she thought and what steps we would take to get to a firm diagnosis and treatment."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Excellent doctors and staff!"

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Love the staff. Everyone is very nice"

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Great nurse got me feeling good for a plan to help my symptoms."

5.0 Review from P.F. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"I appreciate the great care I get from Amy and Dr Schoenig every time!"

5.0 Review from W.S. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Great all around."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Penn has been my doctor for many years. I would & do recommend him to people I know."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Amy has been very helpful with my health issues I am seeing her for. I would highly recommend her."

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Worked with Megan. She was quite informative as to why my body does what it does. I learned a lot from her and appreciate the valuable time she spent clearing up some ling running questions in my mind! Thanks, Megan!"

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"I had a great experience. They called right away after my referral. ALL the staff were so nice. Amy even went out of her way to call me later in the day about some scans and understanding them. I felt heard. For once, I finally felt heard and my weight wasn’t even brought up. Would absolutely recommend."

5.0 Review from D.N. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Great experience and they listen!"

5.0 Review from B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"A fantastic Dr office, they go above and beyond!"

5.0 Review from D.E. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Don't have to use them too often but always been happy. Amy was helpful in our teleconference."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Amy answered all my questions and reassured me that I am going to get better"

4.0 Review from O.M. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Amy Stites is great. I appreciate her expertise and explanations."

5.0 Review from A.J. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Great doctor!!"

5.0 Review from T.R. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"The staff is always welcoming & professional. PA Amy takes time to listen to my issues, ask questions and offer possible solutions. She orders appropriate diagnostic tests at a convenient location for me. They follow up with results."

5.0 Review from D.Y. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Amy is very thorough, knowledgeable, and easily to talk with."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Couldn’t be happier. Everyone was very nice and explained every step that was to be taken."

4.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"All the testing and the Dr fully explained everything"

4.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"They were kind and very professional."

5.0 Review from B.K. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I showed up early for my appointment and got in a little earlier than the scheduled appointment time. I had heard good things about the PA that I would be seeing, and the comments were accurate. It was a very pleasant doctor appointment experience."

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Friendly staff, love love love Amy and Dr Misra."

5.0 Review from P.W. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"The entire staff was amazing and very attentive. They took great care of me."

5.0 Review from G.C. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Penn was professional, easy to understand, kind, and answered all my questions."

5.0 Review from V.M. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"I put off having a colonoscopy for years ,afraid of the whole procedure,when I arrived there for it ,the staff ,nurses and most of all Dr Penn was so kind ,they were all so Profesional I was never left alone and everything was explained to me in detail before they did it ,thank you Dr Penn ❤️ 💙"

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Had a great experience with DDC, especially Dr. Schoenig. He has a great sense of humor & bedside manner, explains things well, and really knows how to put a patient at ease. The other office staff at DDC are great as well. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend DDC and Dr. Schoenig!"

5.0 Review from B.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"DDEC and Dr Schoenig and his team are awesome. I have been seeing their team every 5 years for the past 15 years as my family has a history of Colon cancer. The entire process from online scheduling to check in the day of the colonoscopy through the prep for the procedure to release to go home - their team are polite, positive, encouraging and empathetic - I highly recommend Dr Schoenig and his team at DDEC."

5.0 Review from K.J. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Very thorough and caring professionals. Dr. Schoenig and PA-C Any Stites are great. They listen and go the extra mile to diagnosis and treat their patients for optimal results. I have always been treated as an individual and with respect. Must mention that their nurses and staff members are excellent too. Whoever thinks it's hard to get good help these days could get some tips from this group. Never had a bad experience with anyone working here. Stellar group. Glad I found you. I had not been back for years, because of excellent treatment. But when I had a recent flare-up, they responded by getting me in and finding the solution."

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"The staff was excellent ,very nice and professional. I have been going to DDC For ten years and always had excellent care! I would recommend them to anyone need these procedures!"

5.0 Review from V.R. Source: Google May 25 2020

"After reading some of these reviews, I’ll admit I was nervous about making an appointment with this office. I decided to do some investigating on my own before relying on others opinions, and I’m sure glad I did. I cannot say enough good things about my experience. From the intake personnel, to pre service interaction, to scheduling, to Dr. Kenneth Schoenigs non judgmental, calming demeanor and genuine concern, through to follow up I was thoroughly impressed."

5.0 Review from B.F. Source: Google May 25 2015

"I agree with the below comment. Dr. Misra is also awesome. They are understanding and caring and have no problem explaining. Everyone in the office was very kind and helpful! I have a new G. I. doctor!!!"