GI Alliance of Illinois has a new patient portal link! To access, click here!

Patient Reviews

At GI Alliance of Illinois, we are a physician-led practice with a patient-centric focus, meaning you will always be our top priority. We know how important it is to feel comfortable with your provider and to know that you are cared about every step of the way. When choosing a provider, it is important to find one that is not only knowledgeable about your GI condition but one that can provide you with the support you need. Our practice is known across the state because of our top rated gastroenterologists and staff. We would love for you to browse through the reviews below from past and present patients who have been right where you are so that you can make the most informed decision when choosing a GI provider. Once you have read the reviews, reach out to a GI Alliance of Illinois location near you— we would love a chance to connect with you and find out how we can help you achieve better GI health.

Reviews for Oak Lawn

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google May 04 2023

"Very competent, compassionate and provide treatment to lessen symptoms . This is for Mercianne Renner"

5.0 Review from N.O. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"The nurses and Doctor were wonderful during my procedure however when I needed to make an appointment with a doctor for an ultra sound Suzy was very rude"

5.0 Review from A.D. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Great service."

5.0 Review from B.N. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Very detailed"

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"“Receptionists” are very welcoming and knowledgeable. All staff including Lauren are very professional, yet relatable."

5.0 Review from N.M. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"The nurse and nurse practitioner were very considerate, thoughtful and they listened. Very pleasant experience."

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Very professional, knowledgeable and pleasant. Could not have been treated better."

5.0 Review from R.R. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Where can I start? From the ladies in the front desk and Amy was such a sweetheart and professional and answered all my questions. My nurse practitioner was Lauren Smith. I went in there terrified because I haven’t been feeling well and left having hope for better days. Thank you so much for all you do💕"

5.0 Review from R.L. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Friendly and professional service ."

5.0 Review from V.R. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Doctors and staff are very professional. They are very welcoming."

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"I have been using this group for all my colonoscopy and endoscopy procedures and have been very impressed with the efficiency of the staff and the professional attitude . Dr Muscarello is wonderful. Listens to your concerns and answers completely. Works with you to reach a solution for your problem"

5.0 Review from V.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Lauren is terrific!! She's professional, kind, explains everything and very caring. Dr. Muscarello has a great PA!!"

5.0 Review from M.Z. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Check in was fast. Staff was courteous and thorough. NP Lauren Smith’s exam was thorough and listened to my complaints. Tests were ordered to access my complaints with follow appointment. I’ve been going to GI Alliance for years and Dr Arndt and his staff have never disappointed me. Highly recommended."

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"1st time (hopefully last) getting a colonoscopy. Went to the SW Highway facility. Every single person from the front desk every single nurse the anesthesiologist and Dr Arndt were so nice and made the entire experience very easy!! Thank you everyone!"

5.0 Review from E.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Very professional"

5.0 Review from K.P. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"I was very pleased with my experience with the Illinois gastroenterologist."

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"My husband & I just had our Colonoscopies done 2 weeks apart by Dr. Vincent Muscarello at his Oak Lawn office. You couldn't ask for a more professional staff from the moment you walk into his office to the point of discharge. We were treated with kindness and compassion by all staff members. We have been going to Dr. Muscarello for our EGD's and Colonoscopies for the past 25 years. We feel as if he's part of our family. His knowledge and medical skills, as well as his compassion in the GI field are exemplary. If we could, we would give him more than 5⭐'s❤"

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Love Dr.Arnold and his staff. So personal and professional ."

5.0 Review from D.P. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"My appointment was handled in a timely manner."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Excellent smooth efficient and outstanding services experience Truly appreciate very comforting experience Thank you !"

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Had 2 procedures at Dr. Raddawi office location in Oak Lawn staff was very excellent and professional. Dr. Raddawi took time to answer all my questions At follow-up he continued his caring manner answering and explaining the results and detailing what I should do in the future"

5.0 Review from R. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I must say my experience was very good! Receptionist, Nurse Practitioner, and Dr., Arndt were great! Doctor Personally called me ... and was glad to answer any questions I had. I highly recommend this team that works so well together. Thank you Illinois Gastroenterologist group!"

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I had a visit with Lauren Smith NP and she was so caring and thoughtful! She really listened to me and I am feeling so much better.."

5.0 Review from B.L. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr. D’Astice is kind and conscientious. He takes the time to explain test results and prescription drugs he prescribes. I feel confident in his knowledge that he will help with whatever problem I bring to him."

5.0 Review from C.P. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I was very pleased with my procedure done at the Illinois Gastroenterology Group in Oak Lawn, IL. Dr. Brian Blumenstein and his staff took great care of me. I really felt spoiled with the heated gown and blanket I was given. The whole process was quite fast. I surly won’t mind the next time."

4.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Went in with questions and issues All questions were answered to satisfaction and told if anything changes call direct."

5.0 Review from P.V. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Overall excellence from provider & staff. Very pleased with services at Illinois gastroenterology. Gracias, thank you."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"One of the most thorough and well run medical practices I use. I have a few health issues and for my stomach issues I use this group. They really try to get to the root cause of my stomach issues by testing and trying different approaches and lots of meaningful communications from a great well coordinated team of highly qualified Drs. And Nurse Practitioners. I always know what’s going on next and why we’re doing it. I wish all my different Dr. Groups were run as well as this one is. I have the one thing that a Dr. Really needs to earn, and that’s - my confidence. I am confident they will get my issues resolved."

5.0 Review from L.L. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Bajaj ~ a very knowledgable, kind doctor. His demeanor is calming, yet, very on point and direct. Giving clear explanation of symptoms, hurdles and how to surpass them, Dr. Bajaj exhibits reassurance that you are in good hands in every aspect of treatment. I am beyond happy to have found him."

5.0 Review from C.E. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"My experience at this location is outstanding. The staff are there to greet you and answer any questions you may have. They are very professional and the space is so clean. It make you feel at ease and comfortable. My doctor Baja is the best. I trust him with my life. He is always on top of things. Dr.Baja will actually call me at home to see how I am doing He will call me to let me know about my test results I never had a doctor that would do this. He is so intelligent, professional and he tells you everything you need to know. He informs you what he will be doing next to find out what is actually going on with my health. Dr Baja is just a great doctor and I’m so happy to have him for my doctor."

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Excellent experience. Clinical care, quality, sterility, ease of process, comfort, experience, expertise. The best in DuPage county."

5.0 Review from S.R. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Great Doctors! And employees that seem to care."

5.0 Review from G.D. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. Bajaj and staff were amazing. Everyone was professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. I have been seeing Dr. Bajaj for about 20 years, intermittently. He has always been a doctor worthy of my trust. His demeanor and bedside manners are impeccable."

4.0 Review from S.L. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Helpful with my Aunt's çoncerns."

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Very knowledgeable. Explains the situation to you very well."

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"It was a good experience. The doctors and NP were knowledgeable and spent the time. Not rushed."

4.0 Review from E.M. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"My appointment was on time and everyone was very cordial. No one really wants to go to the Dr, but if I have to, I like to feel comfortable. Thank you for that."

5.0 Review from D.O. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Lauren Smith is the best. She has been caring and helpful throughout my treatment and visits. Highflying recommend. Caring and compassionate"

5.0 Review from T.S. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"7Years ago, Dr. Arnt was my Dr. Now I’m back, getting the care, I need from, Lauren Smith, his Physician’s Assistant. Best place to be!"

5.0 Review from S. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"The place is clean everyone is very friendly and professional and it's never a long wait and the doctors are great at least mine is Dr baja"

5.0 Review from R.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I've only done a virtual visit with the doctor but I can safely say that I like his bedside manner he seemed very concerned about my health which was an A-Plus for me I will be recommending new patients starting with my son"

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"The staff were very friendly upon my arrival until I left. They were very reassuring as I was very nervous going into my procedure. My experience was very overwhelming and I am grateful for the care that I received from the staff. They also checked on me two times to make sure I was feeling better. Thanks for the compassion!!!!!!"

5.0 Review from M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Sunbulli is a compassionate doctor with a great deal of wisdom, years practicing, and knowledge. He is unsurpassed in my opinion. Nurses and staff are knowledgeable, friendly, and always lighten the mood by thoroughly explaining what to expect. I highly recommend Dr. Sunbulli!"

5.0 Review from W.Z. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I would like to thank Dr. Imad Elkhatib for taking care of me, he is so professional, caring, and kind and patient, and always spent time explain my questions with patience. Dr. Imad Elhatib was recommended to me by a famous Hospital Physician during my stay in the Hospital., I am so happy I made a great choice and so lucky to see Dr. Elkhatib in several years, he is the best GI Doctor that I have ever had."

5.0 Review from W.T. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Needed to have a colonoscopy performed, and had no idea what Dr to use. I harbored some concerns as the last colonoscopy I had (some years back) was not a "good experience" at all.Friend recommened Dr. D'Astice. Contacted his office to schedule. Thus began a wonderful experience dealing with 3 ladies in his office, Michelle, Tammy& Yolanda. Over the next 2 1/2 months, They worked with me on the phone, answering questions and preparing me for the prep. Everyone treated me with respect and dignity, and the procedure went well. Dr. D'Astice and his entire staff (including the anesthesiologist) were great. A hearty Thank You to all."

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr.D'Astice put a feeding in for my husband it was an emergency procedure we were very grateful for him doing that with his busy schedule. All of his staff and nurses at Little Company of Mary were so kind and helpful."

5.0 Review from D.Z. Source: Google May 25 2022

"The physicians, and their clinical staff are amazing. Dr. Muscarello is the BEST gastroenterologist you will find. If you have a gastro issue this IS the place to come. Lauren their NP is wonderful. The group is very professional and they take time to listen. I have gone to this group for over 15 years and I would never go anywhere else."

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Happy Doctor's Day to Dr. Kamran Ayub at Southwest Gastroenterology. I can't thank Dr. and his P.A.s enough for their expertise ! Since taking care of my gi issues my life and well-being has changed. I highly recommend him and his staff. Trust is very important between patient and Doctor. I trust him."

5.0 Review from J.O. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. D’Astice is a caring and very personable physician. He is both dedicated to his profession and his patients. He finds out every way to help patients with the best prescriptions at the best cost through insurance coverages."

5.0 Review from C.D. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I highly recommend Illinois Gastroenterology Group. I have been a patient of Dr. Arndt for many years and at my last visit I saw the Nurse Practitioner Lauren Smith. I am extremely satisfied with both of these medical professionals; I feel they listen to my concerns and ensure they provide the best care and follow up possible."

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very personable and professional."

4.0 Review from M.N. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Lauren, Dr. Arndt's P A was going to tell Kim Dr. Patel's nurse to call me to set up an appt. for a EGD. So far I've heard nothing and it's been a few weeks. I suppose I have to call Dr. Patel's office to see what happened."

5.0 Review from R.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I have been seeing Dr.Bijaj for many years and I have had been treated with the utmost professionalism, from his staff to him. He makes sure that I have the best care possible. I have and will continue to refer my family and friends to him for great care."

5.0 Review from T. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Lauren is very generous with her time, thorough and knowledgeable. I found her to be easy to talk to, receptive and attentive. I do not hesitate to recommend her and give her a five star rating."

5.0 Review from D.V. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Lauren Smith is very kind, intelligent, thorough and responds quickly to her messages!"

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Lauren is very caring, doesn't rush , listens to you about your concerns!!"

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"This was my first time there & it was wonderful. The nurses were all polite & made sure you were comfortable. Dr. Bajaj is also wonderful. I have been seeing him for several years & he is by far one of the best doctors that I have ever had. If I could rate more than 5 stars, I would. Thank you!"

5.0 Review from L.D. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Very professional!"

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Bajaj is the best doctor. Very knowledgeable with a fantastic bedside manner. He always listens to what you have to say."

5.0 Review from L.P. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I have been going to Dr. Bajaj for yrs. He was my mother's gastro doctor first. He found her tumors when no other doctor could. That is why I choose him to do my own care. He is polite, informative and always follows up to see how ones progress. His staff at both location are great. I highly recommended doctor Bajaj even my own pcp gives him always positive reviews."

5.0 Review from L.F. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I love Dr.Bajaj, He is so kind and very thoughtful, answers all your questions."

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Muscarello was able to diagnose my husband within 15 minutes of his examination. Very kind, caring, a great listener and is sympathetic to his patients needs. We would highly recommend him to anyone."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Service was great 👍"

5.0 Review from J. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I'm going here now to see a new GI doctor and so far they are great! Definitely recommend you come here for your Gastric needs! Thank you guys, And my sister Debbie."

5.0 Review from Z.W. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Great bedside manner, very funny and informative."

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I just want to thank the staff to the nurses and Dr Bajaj for getting me in so quickly for my procedure and explaining everything to me. You guys made me feel very comfortable. Thank you so much again."

5.0 Review from O.D. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I highly recommend Dr Bajaj to anyone who values high professionalism, knowledge, respect, and kindness."

5.0 Review from A.P. Source: Google May 25 2021

"very competent and knowledgeable in his field."

5.0 Review from A.L. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Highly recommended"

5.0 Review from A.E. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Ajay Bajaj performed an upper endoscopy on me Thursday, October 29 at Advocate Good Samaritan Hospital in Downers Grove. From the moment I entered the hospital I was well taken care of by the most awesome group of caregivers. Megan was my admitting RN, Carmen was my procedure assistant, Alex and Stacy were my amazing procedure RN’s, Bill was my recovery assistant, Sabrina was my awesome recovery RN and then there was my amazing physician Dr. Bajaj. from the first moment that I met Dr. Bajaj at his Oak lawn office he made me feel totally at ease. Dr. Bajaj is very detailed in his instructions to you about what you’re going to go through and or experience. When I had a question just one day before the procedure, Dr. Bajaj returned my call in a very timely manner putting me at ease. Upon my discharge I was given complete detailed easy to follow instructions and callback numbers if I had any questions. Thank you Dr. Bajaj for taking such good care of me. I pray that the most high God continues to bless your hands as well as your mind."

5.0 Review from T.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Great communication before and after my procedure, which was done at the Oak Lawn location. Couldn't have asked for a more pleasant yet professional experience. Everyone was very nice, and my appointment started right on time! Highly recommend."

5.0 Review from E.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Love this doctor knows his stuff. I would be lost without him. Thank you Dr. Bajaj ! Ella"

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr, Bajaj was a great help to me. The GI team are professional and kind. The issues that I have had for years are finally being addressed. Thank you Dr. Bajaj and team!"

5.0 Review from C.O. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Thorough and professional, with a sense of humor. Hard to find and grateful."

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Muscarello is the BEST! He is the only gastroenterologist my family & I will see. Dr. Muscarello is very professional, explains everything, takes his time with you and is friendly."

5.0 Review from A.V. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Nice and caring"

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Very caring and thorough doctor, amazing bedside manor. She took the time to make sure I understood everything. Wish I would have found her years ago."

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Staff was welcoming and efficient. The NP, Lauren Smith, was knowledgeable, a good listener, assessed my situation and came up with a workable plan of treatment."

5.0 Review from E.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I'm really glad Dr. Bajaj took over my care. He's great."

5.0 Review from F.A. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Vincent Muscarello the best doctor in the world, he cares about his patient, he follow-up with his patience, very honest and very respectful very knowledgeable and Professional."

5.0 Review from S.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Awesome physician. Listens to his patient."

5.0 Review from J.F. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Where do I begin??? Dr Muscarello saved my life! Literally saved my life!!! Words could never express what a kind, patient, supportive and caring doctor that he is. Through liver failure and gallbladder surgery he has been there for me. He is the very best!!!!"

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Bajaj is very knowledgeable, caring and kind! Has an excellent and professional bedside manner! This office made me very comfortable and had me at ease for an uncomfortable hitting the big 50 procedure. Everything was so organized, quick, painless and can’t say enough about the staff, nurses, and receptionists who were pretty amazing as well. I also want to mention that the office called me the following day after my procedure as well as Dr. Bajaj personally to see if I was ok and if I had any questions. This doctor and his office is highly recommended!!"

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"This doctor is very thorough, excellent patient care. He follows up with patients. Professional. Concerned with your comfort and safety. Explains procedures and options in detail."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Muscarello was referred to me by another doctor whose opinion I value and trust. When I asked “If you needed a GI doctor, who would you choose?” His response was “Dr. Muscarello”. I asked him why specifically and his reply was that he is just a really excellent doctor. I have had Crohn’s Disease for 17 years. I had a bowel resection in 2003. I have seen 4 doctors over the course of the last 17 years. I switched to Dr. Muscarello and it was the best move/decision I could have made. He is (by far) my favorite out of all that I have been with. He is so intelligent and knowledgeable. My previous GI doctor was okay (at best) but I had no idea what I was missing out on until I met Dr. Muscarello. He listens, he cares, he wants to help, and he’s very intelligent. You will see that the first time you meet with him. I feel as though I am in good hands with Dr. Muscarello. The staff in his office is excellent. Every time I have needed to speak with a nurse, they take the time to listen and explain. The entire experience with Dr. Muscarello and his staff has been nothing short of amazing. I HIGHLY recommend."

4.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Good experience with the medical staff. Dr. Kwon was professional and caring."

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google May 25 2019

"The quality of the care is impressive."

5.0 Review from D.K. Source: Google May 25 2019

"I was treated by Dr.Berkelhammer and Sandra Bernklau and they took care of me and my problem quickly and professionally. Very nice people and took time to explain my situation."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google May 25 2019

"Sure you might wait in the waiting room. But it is well worth the wait. My experience with Dr. Charles Berkelhammer has been nothing but fantastic. He listens to the complaints, asks questions and forms his diagnosis. That might call for procedures to be done. After all oil f that he takes time to explain and answer your questions."

5.0 Review from K. Source: Google May 25 2019

"Everyone was kind, helpful and thorough. Procedure started on time. Was out in exactly 1-hour as the nurse stated the day prior. Great experience!"

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google May 25 2018

"Very friendly and professional place."

4.0 Review from G.D. Source: Google May 25 2018

"Scheduling took back and forth phone calls for a total of 9 days to get an appointment. There was never a time that someone actually picked up the phone. Then it took approximately 2 days to get a return call and it was mostly when I stepped out. Then another 2 days of waiting for a callback. I almost switched to another doctor. But from he moment I stepped through the doors for my appointment I only experienced kindness and a perfectly run office staff. I was very impressed with everyone I encountered. All showed professionalism. Dr lue was everything I hoped for in a physician. Glad I did not switch after all I opted for Osmoprep because of a very bad experience with the other. Projectile vomiting, etc. found out it costs between $200 and $300 for the 32 pills depending where purchased. Called my insurance company and they gave me a phone number for doctor or staff to call directly. Explained my situation and they said they could make me a tier 3 which would then cover 30% of the cost. scheduler refused my request by telling me if they did that for me then they would be spending their entire day doing it for everyone. Really? How many people actually need the Osmoprep. I was very disappointed in her lack of empathy. I feel if I could have talked to dr lue directly and explained it to him he would have made the necessary phone call to save me the money."

4.0 Review from A.W. Source: Google May 25 2018

"They are excellent and up to date on procedures and health related. Very great and trustworthy!"